Skip to content

Chocolate covered goodness

February 15, 2010

I love days off, especially when they are Mondays!  Despite all the walking we did yesterday I didn’t sleep very well last night and was up nearly the same time as Carl, who had a teacher’s workday.  I lazed in bed for a little while before deciding to get out of bed and make some breakfast.  I settled on a little bit of Saturday’s left over ham and potatoes with an egg and cheese, a side of grapes and a giant cup of coffee.

After breakfast I got ready for body pump at the gym and off I went.  Unfortunately (or not) the gym class schedule that I have at home is about 15 minutes off so instead of getting there to set up my bench and weights there was a yoga class going on.  I decided to walk on the treadmill and got about a mile done while I was waiting – score for adding a little more activity in today!  The class was really great and I went up a little weight (from 2.5 to 5 lbs.) on some of the exercises.  I’m still super weak with my triceps and if I wouldn’t look like a complete fool I’d do the exercises with just the bar!  So sad.

When I got home I was starving but I didn’t know what I wanted.  After a quick look in the freezer I settled on a roasted veggie pizza from Whole Foods (similar to Amy’s roasted veggie).  It looked like it could have used more veggies so I had some broccoli and hummus on the side.

A few days ago I was reading Iowa Girl Eats‘ blog and saw that she had a yummy chocolate treat on there – chocolate covered orange slices!  Since I’ve developed an allergy to strawberries I was so bummed that I wasn’t going to be able to enjoy a chocolate covered treat any more and I was so excited when I saw that I could substitute oranges instead.  Mine didn’t look anywhere near as pretty as hers and for whatever reason I didn’t have enough chocolate to coat them as nicely but they were still super good.  I think it was because I tried to coat both sides and I think you are only supposed to do the one side. I just dipped the extras into the chocolate and ate them at room temp instead of refrigerated like these.  Both were really good and I’m sure that you’ll be seeing these again.

Do you have today off?  If so, What are you doing today instead of working?  If you have to work how is your day going so far?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 4:28 pm

    Working today, but the day has gone by super fast! Can’t complain about that!

  2. February 15, 2010 5:50 pm

    Not working, and not doing much. I notice on days I don’t work how fast 2:45 arrives, when I’m usually done working (but exhausted).

    I did go to B&N and found a copy of Clean Eating Mag. while browsing around.

    • February 15, 2010 5:54 pm

      While I’m off I also count down the hours until 2pm (when the kids leave for the day). Somehow after 2:00 it’s like I don’t really have the day off anymore. Funny that you do that too!

      I wasn’t super excited about this issue of Clean Eating but it still has some yummy looking stuff in there. Even if you weren’t impressed I’d definitely keep it in mind if you’re looking for new recipes/ideas.

  3. February 16, 2010 1:01 pm

    Hi 🙂 I wanted to let you know I have been eating your blog. I think I got it off of Andrea’s site. I too am a teacher, although I am in DE. I am training for a half-marathon in May that my husband and best friend are going to do with me. I am working on losing weight and being able to finish the 13.1 miles. I have really enjoyed my runs so far, but have only been on the treadmill lately do to it being cold here! I look forward to keeping up with your blog. You are inspiring, down to earth, with a happy personality! You and your husband seem a lot like me and mine 🙂 We are lucky to have such a good support and someone that will eat healhty foods with us. I need to start putting more in my blog 🙂

    • February 16, 2010 10:10 pm

      Thank you so much for visiting my blog! It’s always nice having people visit and comments are always fun to read 🙂 Good luck with your half marathon training! I’ll have to stop by your blog to see how it’s going.

Leave a Reply

