Skip to content

Ortega River Run

February 27, 2010

After 26.2 with Donna last weekend, Brian talked me into doing the Ortega River Run which goes along and over the Ortega River.  I’d heard him and some other co-workers talk about this race and how beautiful the route is for a few years now so I decided to bite the bullet and sign up.  As the week progressed I wasn’t super excited with the weather forecast (hello, 40 degrees and rain!) but decided to focus on the distance (5 miles) use it as a training run for the Gate River Run (a 15K) in just two weeks.

We drove out to the school last night to pick up our packets and were greeted by the wonderful smell of spaghetti.  I’d forgotten that the Boy Scouts were putting on a spaghetti dinner for the runners, so we went to Olive Garden to “carb up” before we got there.  Too bad because the dinner looked wonderful, but you really can’t beat Olive Garden’s soup, salad and bread sticks.

Carl wasn’t feeling all that well, and had actually stayed home from work Friday, so he wasn’t sure that he’d be running but picked up the race packet anyway.  We got home, watched some of the Olympics and I went to sleep before 9am.

When the alarm went off at 6am this morning and I asked Carl if he was going to come to the race, he just groaned and rolled back to sleep.  I guess his throat was bothering him at some point last night so he went downstairs to have some tea and fell asleep watching TV.  I considered shutting off the alarm and skipping the race too, since it was 39 degrees this morning, but remembered how disappointed I was in myself for not training like I should have for Donna and didn’t want to have that feeling again for the River Run.  I got dressed, laced up my shoes and was out of the house by 7am.

I have to admit that I was a little nervous about this race because it’s the first one that I’ve done completely by myself because Carl has always come with me to a race, even if he wasn’t running.  He definitely wins “the most awesome husband in the world” award!  Brian ended up going out of town this weekend and no one else from work signed up so it was just me.  While I really missed the support, of someone there with me before the start and cheering me on at the finish, it felt good to know that I could do it on my own.

The course was through a beautiful neighborhood, over the river, another beautiful neighborhood, over the river, and the other side of the first beautiful neighborhood.  Towards the end of the race it started to drizzle and I was thankful that the rain held off as long as it did because it would not have been fun to run in the cold rain for five miles.

Even though the race wasn’t super long I decided to carry my handheld filled with G2 so I could drink whenever I wanted instead of just at the water stops (which were at mile 2 and mile 4) and I also wore my iFitness belt to carry a GU and my car key.  I really think it helped having both hydration and nutrition during the race because while I started out slow (even for me) I felt great and was able to pick up the pace at the end.  I was a little disappointed that the iFitness belt slid up most of the race, even more so than last weekend, probably because I didn’t carry my phone in it so it didn’t have much to weigh it down.

Today’s Stats:

Mile 1 – 12:20
Mile 2 – 12:44
Mile 3 – 11:57
Mile 4 – 13:01 (took a GU)
Mile 5 – 11:38
Total time – 1:01:42 (chip time was 1:01:35)
Avg. pace – 12:16 (chip pace was 12:20)

About a half mile from the finish line I walked for a few seconds because I was getting really tired and wanted to catch my breath when a woman made a comment to me about how close we were to finishing and how we could make it.  I agreed with her and started running again.  We chatted back and forth for a little while before she decided to take a walk break and waved me on.  I’m so thankful for her encouraging words and I know having someone to talk to for just a little while helped me refocus and finish strong.

I’m really pleased with my time today because the fastest I’ve ever done 5 miles was just under an hour in my neighborhood and this run included two bridges (neither giant, but certainly not flat!) and was in an area that I’ve never run in before.  Sure I wish I would have made it under an hour (darn minute!) but I feel like I finished strong and enjoyed the run.

Do you try to encourage people during a race? I try to find at least one person during a race to say “good job” to.  I’m usually in the back of the pack with those who have to take more frequent walk breaks (or who are super fast walkers!) or run slower and find that people do appreciate a kind word to keep them going.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 8:26 pm

    Yea, I’m so proud of you doing one on your own! Independence is such a great feeling. …and great time too!

    I always encourage people. I also usually yell “thanks volunteers” as I pass a water station, even though I carry a hand-held and don’t need to stop and grab water. Watching their faces light up as they realize someone appreciates what their doing makes it all worthwhile.

    Talking (and listening) to others is why I never wear my iPod during races (and therefore rarely during training) anymore. I’ve found that on races where I’ve listened to music I’ve missed too many other great moments/memories.

    • February 27, 2010 8:50 pm

      Thanks 🙂

      I do wonder how much I miss when I run with my ipod. I know that it really helps having the songs to jam out to and that I run faster with it, but I’m sure that if I started training without it I would adapt.

  2. February 27, 2010 11:06 pm

    Way to go – and just a week after a half! You are becoming a racing machi ne!

    • February 28, 2010 6:51 pm

      HAHA! I don’t know about a machine, but I do seem to do a lot of races. I can’t pass up a new location to run or race t-shirts, apparently 🙂

  3. Kate permalink
    February 28, 2010 5:54 pm

    If I hadn’t encouraged a slow-like-me runner in a snowy, miserable 5K five years ago, I never would have met my amazing running group! She was a member and we chatted about it for a good mile. You never know what a kind word will lead to. 🙂

  4. February 28, 2010 6:30 pm

    Just wanted to tell you that I read your race report (Donna) on Friday before I left…and it was great! So I did my first half this weekend and finished in 2 hrs 53 mins! I was excited and can’t wait for the next one! Great job on doing another race the very next weekend! (And thanks for the “Good Luck” comment!)

    • February 28, 2010 6:50 pm

      YEA! Great job on your first half! I can’t wait to read about your experience during the run 🙂

Leave a Reply

