Skip to content

Good eats

March 1, 2010

I saw this awesome recipe for crockpot Santa Fe chicken on Iowa Girl Eats the other day and knew that I had to try it.  I had a to-do list a mile long yesterday and thought that starting dinner in the crock would be a great way to get dinner ready and keep us from eating out (which we’ve been doing a lot of the last two weeks).  I did make a few changes to the ingredients because we didn’t have any chicken stock (so I used veggie broth) and we didn’t have cumin, onion powder or dried cilantro so I used Adobo seasoning.  After a long day of running around getting materials for a lab that we’ll be doing on Thursday (pictures to come) I arrived home to the most amazing smell and the soup was A-MAZING!  I can’t even imagine how yummy it would have been if I had chicken stock!

We had ours over brown rice added some sour cream and shredded cheese.  Yum!

Tonight I was really craving mac and cheese and found this recipe on allrecipes.com which sounded really good.  I wanted a little something else so I opened a can of tuna and added it to some left over black beans and sauteed veggies.  I know it doesn’t sound very good but it was delish!

What unlikely combination of foods do you enjoy?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Hilary permalink
    March 1, 2010 9:47 pm

    The crockpot wins again! I am so adding Santa Fe Chicken to our menu next week. Yum!

Leave a Reply

