Skip to content

Stronger with someone by my side

March 4, 2010

Hello bloggy friends!  I know I have been quite the absent poster lately but I feel like I’m stuck in a bit of a rut.  I’m slowly making my way out and promise to be writing more again soon.

This afternoon I had the most awesome run with Kristin, R (our school resource officer) and Rachel.  We met at the library like we usually do and ate the bridge for dinner!  Okay, not literally but we certainly showed it who’s boss!  It was windy and unseasonably cold (50 degrees in March?  Really?!) and while we started off chilled I warmed up pretty quickly.  Kristin and R run at a faster pace than Rachel and I do so while they ran on ahead, the two of us stayed together.  Often when I run with people I’m watching their heads bob off in the distance, but today I was able to run with Rachel and I really think it was part of the awesome run today!  It was so nice to have someone encourage me when I would struggle (even though she didn’t say anything, just having her there was encouraging!) and vise versa.

I felt great running over the bridge and ran the first two miles (including the bridge) and nearly beat my fastest two mile time by 13 seconds!  I’ll take it considering there was a bridge in there this time 🙂  The last 2.5 were a little bit of a struggle since we had to come back over the bridge running against the wind.  Overall it was a great run and I’m really glad that I went.

Today’s stats –
Total distance – 4.5 miles
Mile 1-2 – 22:48
Mile 3 – 11:57
Mile 4 – 12.44
.5 nubbin – 6:02
Average pace – 11:54’/mi
Best pace – 8:45’/mi

After we finished the group of us went to Flavors for dinner and were joined by R’s wife, Carl and Heather, one of our co-workers.  The food was great, although I didn’t get any pictures.

I’m so thankful that tomorrow is Friday!  Do you have any big plans this weekend? I’m going to Orlando to support Rachel, Kristin, Hilary and Lindsay who are running in the Disney Princess Half Marathon.  I really wish I would have signed up to run too, but it will be fun to be there and support them 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 10:49 pm

    Hope to see you in the crowds!!!

  2. March 5, 2010 12:02 pm

    How great to have people to run with!

    That race sounds like so much fun. Have fun spectating.

  3. March 5, 2010 7:46 pm

    Sounds like a great run. I have been totally slacking lately and need to get some motivation/excitement for next weekend!

    Have fun tomorrow – looks like there’s some drama?

    • March 5, 2010 7:58 pm

      It was a really great run but I don’t think I’m ready for next weekend either! When do you think you guys will be getting in? I figured we’d get our packets Friday afternoon/evening and maybe have some people over for pasta.

  4. March 9, 2010 5:48 pm

    That is so great that you have a group of friends that you can run with! Keep posting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

