Skip to content

Running for me

April 4, 2010

Many of you know that I’ve been really struggling with running the last few months.  I’ve felt slow, frustrated and unmotivated.  I let the “green eyed monster” get to me and I completely forgot why I loved running so much in the first place.  When I woke up this morning I knew something had to change and I knew that I wanted to run again, not for a certain time or a certain pace, because I love it.

I laced up my new shoes, prayed my new Lululemon groove crops wouldn’t slide down like the Wunder Unders (hey, sometimes a girl needs new things to get her motivated too – don’t judge!), put my iPod earbuds in and I was out the door.  I didn’t bring a watch and I didn’t bring my Garmin – I was out for a run for ME.  I have to admit that it wasn’t an easy run.  It was hot, the sun was in my eyes on the way back because I forgot my visor and let’s be real, the last time I went running was in Tampa with Katie almost two weeks ago…

When I got home I felt AMAZING!  All of those endorphins were kicking and I was in a good mood!  I was ready to take on the world!  Okay I may not take on the world, but we made breakfast, I’ve done another load of laundry and I wrote TWO blog posts.  Woo Hoo!

To commemorate the occasion I had Carl snap this picture of me with my new shoes.  I love them and they feel so much better than my old ones.  I guess they should since they have new inserts and tread on the bottom!

Oh, and the Lululemon Groove Crops are AMAZING!  They don’t slide down at all although I do wish they were more “cropped” on me.  They hit me about mid-calf because I’m so short so I think I may get them hemmed to be just under my knee.

Do you think new “stuff” motivates you to exercise when you’re in a funk?  Do you have particular brands that you like to wear or do you exercise in anything?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 12:18 pm

    I’m so happy to see you blogging again!

    I really needed to read this today. I’ve felt terribly unmotivated lately, and I need to get out there and remember why I love to run.

  2. April 5, 2010 8:21 pm

    I’ve been in a funk lately too…I haven’t run since Gate. Maybe new stuff is what I need? Of course, I don’t want to buy new stuff until I lose the little belly I’ve created and I won’t lose the belly I’ve created until I get out there and run. Oh, the dilemma.

  3. April 6, 2010 9:02 pm

    Yay for you! Always good to rediscover something that makes you that happy!

Leave a Reply

