Skip to content

Spring break and date night

April 4, 2010

I can’t believe that after weeks, no months, of waiting for spring break it’s already coming to a close.  We spent the week a few hours south with our families – Carl spent many hours out on the water fishing in his kayak and with his family, while I spent some much needed time with my mom.  It was so nice to catch up with her, although I do wish it could have been under better circumstances.

While we were visiting for Christmas my mom mentioned that her foot was bothering her near the joint on her big toe.  By the time we left she wasn’t able to put much pressure on it at all and had made an appointment to see her doctor, who referred her to a podiatrist (that she didn’t like), before going to see the podiatrist that my Grandfather has been seeing for years.  My mom was diagnosed with Hallux Rigidus, which is basically degenerative osteoarthritis in the joint of her big toe (think bone grinding on bone because there is no fluid/cartiladge in the joint).  Although my mom is only 55 years young she has the toe of an 85 year old, which she attributes to stiletto heels and too many nights out dancing at the clubs 🙂  After a failed attempt to correct the problem with an orthotic insert into her shoes, the doctor has decided that surgery truly is the best solution to the problem and she is scheduled to have a decompression osteotomy on Wednesday (there is a video on YouTube if you are brave).  The surgery is pretty invasive and mom will have a long, painful road to recovery but relief from the pain that she’s currently in (and hopefully won’t have again for quite some time) is all she needs to focus on.  I’ll be heading down to take care of her on Tuesday after work and staying for about a week, so please send lots of good vibes and prayers her way!

Carl and I headed back home yesterday so I could get some things done around the house and prepare lessons while I’ll be out.  We also really needed some time alone (as much as I love my family, I do love time with my man!) so when we got back we decided to have a date night!  Instead of going to our usual spot downtown we decided to change it up a bit and go to Cafe 11 on the beach.

We started our meal with the hummus platter with focaccia bread, carrots, olives and celery.

We shared the Cafe 11 Club that had turkey, bacon, avocado, tomatoes, mixed greens, cream cheese and ranch dressing on sourdough bread.  Oh yum!

Of course there was dessert…

After dinner we went to Fiesta Falls for mini-golf.  Carl and I actually went to Cafe 11 and then Fiesta Falls on our first date so when ever we go to either place it make me all warm and fuzzy inside – and then I remember our on-going competition of mini golf champion of the world!

This is my competition…

…and this is what happened next…

HAHAHAHA!

I got my game face on…

“Get in your hole!”…but the ball just didn’t want to listen!

Carl took a different approach

I guess it worked for him because he ended up winning by two points.  Gah!  I was not the champion of the world after all but we had a great time.  Fiesta Falls rocks and of course no mini golf place is complete without a pirate ship…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 8:17 pm

    Awww, that is so sweet to have a repeat on your first date. I don’t remember the last time I played mini-golf…and I love mini golf!

Trackbacks

  1. Just the two of us « From 5k to Marathon

Leave a Reply

