Skip to content

Dinner, a wounded chef and a baby

April 5, 2010
tags:

Today was a really productive teacher workday! I could totally tell that we were all rested up from Spring Break last week and needed to get things done in our classrooms because everyone was sequestered and working hard, instead of chatting it up and visiting like we usually do 🙂 Between the days I spent working on lessons over break and this morning I’m pleased to say that I have all of my lesson plans complete and the student sheets are all in for copies. Yes! I was even able to leave at 1pm – shock of the world!

On my way home from work I picked up a few things from the store and made it home by 2 pm to find Carl installing some antivirus software on our Mac and getting ready to tackle our taxes. I finished packing (yes!) and decided to take a nap. About 20 minutes later Carl came to wake me up, saying he was finished with our taxes and it was time for me to wake up. I apparently wasn’t having any of that and slept for another hour – whoops! I clearly needed it but I am a little worried that I won’t make it to sleep at a decent hour tonight – ah the problems with afternoon naps.

I swear that we went from winter straight to summer here in Florida! Carl was wanting to bust out the grill so he grilled up some Aidellis Chicken and Apple sausage, asparagus with carrots and onions, and potatoes with onions and peppers. So good!

DSC_0290.JPG

While he waiting for the food to cook on the grill he was also chopping some wood for a camping trip that he’s going on Wednesday-Friday with the 7th graders at his school (oh the life!). You know where this is going – the ax slipped and he cut his thumb.

DSC_0291.JPG DSC_0293.JPG     

He’s recovering quite nicely on the couch watching The Best Think I Ever Ate – Crunchy on the Food Network 😉

In much more exciting news, my friend Lisa had her baby boy this morning! He was 11 lbs. 14 oz. (holy goodness!) and 22 inches long. Welcome to the world Ian! I can’t wait to see him, his big sister Anna, and of course Lisa and Jonathan in June when Sharon and I (along with two other friends) go and visit her. Love you guys!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 4:38 pm

    sigh. I thought you were announcing you were pregnant. But congrats to the new parents and big sis!

  2. April 6, 2010 8:00 pm

    I’m so jealous you had a teacher work day! My first thought of the day as I turned off my alarm was “why isn’t this a teacher work day?” It should always be one after an extended break!

    Travel safely tomorrow and I hope everything goes smoothly for your mom!

Leave a Reply

