Skip to content

Just the two of us

April 5, 2010

Nearly every year since before I can remember I’ve spent Easter Sunday with my family. This year, Carl and I celebrated Easter with just the two of us – and we didn’t even think to make Easter baskets for each other! I have to admit it was kind of a snap decision to return home before Easter, since my mom is having her foot surgery on Wednesday and I needed to get things settled up here before returning back down there. (READ: I wrote two weeks worth of lesson plans over the last few days and MAN was it intense!)

Anyways, we decided to celebrate in true “Carl and Danielle” style and we went to The Cheesecake Factory! It had been at least a month, maybe even more, since we’d been to the Factory and it was just calling my name!

Carl thinks he’s an owl
DSC_0134.JPG

We decided to start our meal off with a fire roasted artichoke. I’ve only ever had canned or jarred artichokes so I was really excited to try it out.

DSC_0149.JPG

I have to admit that I wasn’t super impressed. Maybe it’s because it was coated in a ton of butter or because we had to pull off the little leaves one at a time to get just a tiny bit of “meat” but I can say I wasn’t super impressed. I’ll stick to the canned or jarred ones next time. Carl, on the other hand, really liked it and all of that work certainly didn’t stop him from eating nearly the entire thing.

DSC_0152.JPG  

Since we were on the whole “sharing” kick we decided to continue on and share the Sonoma Burger too. The burger came with herbed goat cheese, fire roasted tomatoes, mushrooms, red onions and arugula and did not disappoint! Oh, and there were fries too – naturally.

  DSC_0150.JPG

We also decided to share a piece of cheesecake (who goes to The Factory and doesn’t get a piece of cheesecake?!) and got the red velvet cake. So good!

DSC_0153.JPG

Since we were up at the Town Center we decided to do a little shopping, but many of the stores were closed. I didn’t realize the mall would be closed on Easter (I guess it is like Christmas and New Years) so we just walked around and I showed Carl the Operation Beautiful display at Lululemon that I discovered a few weeks when I was there and made my own note.

(The pictures inside the store were taken perviously, but outside pictures were taken Sunday)

Note writing station set up inside the store (taken with my P&S)
IMG_0050.JPG

Notes on display outside

DSC_0155.JPG

A giant post-it. They had these hung up around the inside of the store and had quotes from the people who worked there.

DSC_0156.JPG

Carl reading some of the notes

DSC_0160.JPG

Here’s my note on display for the whole world to see!

DSC_0167.JPG     

Tee hee!

DSC_0162.JPG  

I love that Caitlin started something so simple and wonderful as Operation Beautiful. May we change the world, one post-it at a time!

What is something that you love about yourself? What would you write on a post-it to add to the window?

I’m not going to lie, I had a difficult time coming up with something that I loved about myself while I was standing there in the store. Although you’d think it was an easy thing to just write something on a post-it and slap it up on the window, I knew I wanted it to something that I really felt. When I handed it to the lady to put in the window I got a huge grin on my face because I did feel silly, but it was also really liberating!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 8:26 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever had cheesecake at the Cheesecake Factory. I think I’ve always been too full, and never in the mood to take it home for later. However, that velvet cake is making me salivate.

  2. April 5, 2010 8:29 pm

    Love, love, love your OB note! I’m seriously laughing out loud.

  3. Hilary permalink
    April 5, 2010 8:38 pm

    I LOVE your note! If I had to love something it would be my toes. They are freakishly long, but I can pick up all kinds of stuff with them (from coins to silverware to hair ties and playing cards…they do come in handy).

Leave a Reply

