Skip to content

Doctors and green monsters

April 11, 2010

Friday morning was mom’s first post-op appointment with the doctor. I was really nervous about how the day would go as it would be mom’s first time up, moving around and in the car, since we took her home from the surgery center on Wednesday. Luckily mom was taken right back where she was greeted by the most awesome nurse, Renee, who has been taking care of her for the last few months. Renee gently took off the bandage and we had a look at mom’s foot. I’m not going to lie, it was gross. The incision is about 3-4 inches long and has between 15-20 stitches. Renee wrapped her up, we made an appointment to go back next Friday, when she will hopefully get the stitches removed, and we were off in about 15 minutes.

IMG_0056.JPG

When we arrived home we received a phone call from Renee at the doctor’s office. The doctor wasn’t super excited to hear that mom’s foot was a little red and swollen so we have to go back on Monday morning to make sure there isn’t any infection. They seem to think that the bandage post-surgery was a little too tight and may have caused the redness, especially since there wasn’t much “heat” to the site like there would have been with an infection.

When we got home I made Green Monsters for the whole family! Mom and gramp’s green monsters contained:

  • 1 c. soy milk
  • 1 c. strawberries
  • 2 handfuls spinach
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tbs. peanut butter

Mine had everything but the strawberries and I added fresh blueberries instead.

Mom likes it!
DSC_0310.JPG  

Gramps likes it!

DSC_0312.JPG

Of course I like it!

DSC_0311.JPG

Today momma went for her first stroll outside. It was the perfect day for it, overcast and cool and we stayed out for about 10 minutes. She is making AMAZING progress and I swear that I have a superhero as a mom πŸ™‚

DSC_0313.JPG

Lunch was another GM for mom and I. I love how she’s embraced them. Yea for spinach smoothies – haha!

DSC_0316.JPG

While I’ve been home mom has literally forced me out the door to go on two runs. Since she reads the blog and saw my Project Glow post she said she’d hold me to exercising three times a week. I got in two runs since I’ve been here, which is good enough for me, but according to my mom, you can’t put something out on the internet and not follow through. Love it! I went for a run on Thursday and this afternoon, for about 26 minutes and 20 minutes each time. I didn’t want to go, but there is not any saying “no” to momma πŸ™‚ Gramps was home though, just in case she needed anything while I was gone.

I know I didn’t go two miles today (I did on Thursday), but I’m okay with that. I think that I’m really going to focus on running for time instead of miles right now. Even though I know my usual pace and can estimate how far I’m going, it’s much better in my mind to focus on going out for a 20 or 30 minute run instead of telling myself that I have to run 3 miles. I know it’s just a mind game but if it gets me out there, and so far it has, then I’m all for it!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 7:18 pm

    Glad to hear your mom’s recovery is going well and that everyone loves the GM’s!

    That’s great that she’s pushing you to get out there!

  2. April 12, 2010 7:31 pm

    That’s great that you can be there for your mom during her recovery.
    The first time I made a Gm for my boyfriend he was pretty weirded out by the spinach but he ended up loving it!

  3. April 12, 2010 8:15 pm

    I like the new running goal – time instead of miles – nothing wrong with that! It’s nice too because when your watch hits the 15 minute you know you can turn around wherever you are. …and then there’s always the challenge to get back home in less than 15 minutes so it’s done and over.

  4. April 13, 2010 12:32 pm

    You inspired me. That’s what I did this morning….13 minutes down and 12 minutes back. When I first started running this is what I always did! It makes it easier to when you’re pressed for time.

Leave a Reply

