Skip to content

The pot watcher

April 19, 2010

The Pot Watcher

For years Carl and I have been searching for this nifty gadget that my momma and Gramps have been using for years to keep their pasta water from boiling over and we finally found it. Okay, so maybe we weren’t really searching high and low for it, but we’d browse around kitchen stores wondering if we’d find it. This afternoon Carl was searching for another gadget in the Kitchen Outlet (he struck out) but found The Pot Watcher. Yea!

DSC_0335.JPG

You just drop it in with the water before it boils and keep it in there the whole time the pasta is cooking. If you’re like me, sometimes I keep the temperature up too high and I’ll play the “suds don’t go over” game with the temperature – but The Pot Watcher totally keeps the water bubblin’ without any “suds”. Sweet! I know I should have included a better picture with some boiling water and pasta in it but you’ll just have to settle for the two little pieces here πŸ™‚

DSC_0338.JPG

Dinner tonight was some angel hair Hodgson Mill pasta with my friend Kristin’s meatball recipe. I swear she (and her dad!) must have the “meatball touch” because even though we’re using the same recipe we’ve yet to make them as good as they do. We’ll get it right eventually!

DSC_0339.JPG

10 out and 10 back

It was such a beautiful evening that I had to go out for a run. I was able to use my new watch and loved it! I still need to get used to the buttons but I really am enjoying going out for short runs without worrying about distance or pace.

Momma

I talked to momma after work today and she got her stitches out! Woo Hoo! She now just has a butterfly bandage (which I guess is another type of stitch but not like the original ones that she had) covering the incision and a much smaller wrap around her foot. She is healing well but still needs to stay in bed with her foot elevated for another week. I know she was hoping to be able to move around a lot more after she got her stitches out, but she’s still doing great and trying to focus on the positive things right now. You can do it momma!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 6:31 am

    My scientific mind wants to know…how does the pot watcher work – scientifically?

  2. April 20, 2010 8:06 am

    Hilarious you posted a “pot” watcher on 4/20! LOL!

    Glad to hear your mom is healing well πŸ™‚

  3. April 20, 2010 10:23 am

    I have never heard of the pot watcher before! too cool.

    Glad to hear your mother is healing nicely!

Leave a Reply

