Skip to content

Down for the count and VisionWalk 2010

April 24, 2010

Sorry to disappear there but I’ve been feeling under the weather the last few days and have even lost my voice! I started to feel yucky on Thursday of last week (while I was still at momma’s) but just trudged on through the week. I had quite the sore throat and stuffy nose but thankfully I didn’t run a fever. I woke up Wednesday morning and thought “I’m going to lose my voice by the end of the day” and I did! It was difficult teaching but my students were total rock stars and did a great job of adapting our lessons and really focusing when I tried to squeak out directions. I’m hoping that continuing to rest my voice and talking very little this weekend will mean that my voice will be back in full force by Monday. Fingers crossed!

Even though I wasn’t feeling super great this morning I decided to join Carl for the VisionWalk. The VisionWalk is a national fundraising event for the Foundation Fighting Blindness and is held in 46 cities across the U.S. Since our coffee pot was in the dishwasher we decided to stop at Starbucks for our morning dose of caffeine.

Carl had a Cafe Americana

DSC_0340.JPG

I opted for a venti iced chai latte with soy milk. I always think that they put too much ice in their drinks so I decided to go super big. I didn’t realize that there would be such a big difference between the grande and the venti though and I only ended up drinking half of it.

DSC_0341.JPG

Breakfast

DSC_0342.JPG

When we arrived at the walk site we quickly spotted out group near the registration tent and made our way over to them. There were about 20 people from Carl’s school, including teachers, students, parents, spouses and of course doggies.

DSC_0344.JPG DSC_0346.JPG DSC_0347.JPG DSC_0363.JPG

Of course no walk is complete without Star Wars characters!

DSC_0354.JPG DSC_0357.JPG

They did a wonderful awards ceremony for the teams and individuals who raised money for the cause. Around 9:30am we started walking and we finished up around 10:15am. It was supposed to be a 5k but I really don’t think it was quite 3.1 miles – I’ll still take the exercise!

DSC_0364.JPG DSC_0366.JPG

After we finished up walking watched a demonstration on Cooking without Looking, a cooking show for blind/visually impaired people. It was pretty interesting but I had turned into quite a snotty mess so we decided to leave.

DSC_0368.JPG DSC_0371.JPG

On the way home we stopped by Native Sun to pick up some lunch. As we were leaving Cowboy Meat, a locally owned grass-fed beef supplier, was giving out free sample burgers. Carl and I were going to share one when the grillmaster told me “No, you have to have your own or you’ll hurt our feelings”. Haha! I caved and boy am I glad that I did – it was seriously be best burger that I’ve ever eaten! I know it looks gross (hello zoom!) but seriously it was just meat and bun and it was A-MA-ZING. We will definitely be back to buy some of this meat!

DSC_0373.JPG

Carl liked it too!

DSC_0375.JPG

When we got home we made our lunch but I think that we both just wanted another burger 🙂 Carl and I split a few different “half” wraps. The spinach wrap is the Farmer’s (hummus, sprouts, lettuce, carrots, cucumbers, avocado, tomato), the four wrap is the thai tofu wrap (sauce, broccoli, tofu, carrots, tomato), a veggie ball, thai tempeh (gave both to Carl after a bite) and macaroni salad (I love their macaroni salad!). I washed it all down with peach SweetLeaf tea (love that stuff!)

DSC_0376.JPG

After lunch we took a nap and I woke up STARVING so we ate dinner at 4:30pm (yea, we’re 80). A little bit of the macaroni salad, plantains, jamaican dumplings with plantains, guava jelly mixed with cream cheese to dip the dumplings in (holy goodness!) and a few sweet potato chips from Food Should Taste Good (also amazing!) and a wrap (pulled grilled chicken, sour cream, guac, and Publix black bean dip).   

DSC_0378.JPG

I made a green monster since I was really craving one and needed to round out the plate with some veggies. I picked up some chia seeds at Native Sun and decided to try them out in the smoothie. They didn’t have flavor at all, but I did notice a difference in the texture – and I liked it!

The GM had:

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 c. soy milk
  • 3/4 c. frozen blueberries
  • 1 tbs. sunflower butter
  • 1 tbs. chia seeds

Yum! Tonight we don’t have much planned and I expect to spend the evening much like we’ve spent the last few hours – watching TV (or blogging) in bed. Glorious!

Do you have any new food finds that you’re loving right now?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 8:30 pm

    What a great day.

    I’ve noticed that some charity events (ex: Autism Speaks) that are more about the awareness and fundraising don’t actually do a full 5k walk. I think the families with kids along are very appreciative of that.

    Yea for grass fed beef!

    I do have a new food find…I’ll post it to my blog…maybe tomorrow…

  2. April 25, 2010 12:48 pm

    Sounds like a perfect day! My new food find would have to be the twisted protein bars! They are a great yummy bar especially nice if your out and about! Sure beats starving!!

  3. April 25, 2010 5:04 pm

    Sounds like a great weekend, indeed!

  4. Kristen permalink
    April 27, 2010 12:11 am

    I am obsessed with roasting veggies! It has been a fun new way to eat vegetables.

Leave a Reply

