Skip to content

A great Sunday

April 25, 2010
tags:

I have to admit that Sundays are not typically my favorite day of the week but as I’m getting older and settling into routines I’m enjoying them more and more. This morning I was greeted by grey and overcast skies and quite the headache to go along with them.

I knew the first thing I wanted to have was a green monster because they always make me feel better.

DSC_0379.JPG

Today’s GM contained:

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 banana
  • 1 c. soy milk
  • 1 tbs. chia seeds
  • 1 c. blueberries

Almost as soon as I got it down I started feeling better. I’m always amazed at how quickly they perk up the body. If you’ve never had one before I highly recommend them. Don’t be afraid of the spinach! Even momma likes them and has gramps make her every morning for breakfast. Sweet!

We’ve started to make reading the Sunday paper a tradition in our household so while I whipped up the GM, Carl went to get the paper. I can’t believe that the Sunday edition is now $2.12! Holy goodness I remember when they used to be 75 cents! Ah well.

Breakfast was divine this morning. Carl whipped up some of his breakfast potatoes, an egg and some bacon pieces. Yum! We also shared an orange and an everything bagel thin (I love them!)

DSC_0380.JPG

After breakfast I set to cutting out some coupons. I used to love doing this with my mom as a kid and, well, everyone could use a little extra cash in their pocket! We’ve also decided to really buckle down on our grocery bill for the next few months. With summer coming up we’d like to travel a bit and cutting our grocery bill (usually $125 a week) down to just $50 we’ll be able to have quite the vacation in no time.

DSC_0384.JPG

Carl headed to the grocery store with our list and we did it! All of our grocery for the week came in at $43.25! I meant to take a picture of the receipt but I am so used to checking it out and tearing it up that I did it before I could snap the picture.

While Carl was gone I felt a little hungry so I snacked on four dried apricots.

DSC_0385.JPG

By the time Carl got home I was pretty darn hungry so we got to making lunch. We had some turkey burgers in the freezer and decided to grill them up despite the yucky weather. Nothing keeps my man from his grill – haha! While he was out there I dug into the peach Sweet Leaft tea that I had left over from lunch yesterday. Like HonestT they also have little sayings on the cap and I couldn’t resist showing Carl what this one had to say.

DSC_0388.JPG DSC_0389.JPG DSC_0393.JPG

Love it!

Lunch was awesome! We had turkey burgers with a slice of american cheese, spinach, guac, black bean chipotle dip with sliced tomatoes. I was craving some of these tasty grapes Carl got from the store, Food Should Taste Good sweet potato chips, and rounded the plate out with some of the left over macaroni salad. I don’t know what the deal was but I only ate about half of my lunch before I was completely stuffed. Now it’s lunch for tomorrow 🙂

DSC_0399.JPG

After lunch came more paper reading, a nap and a few loads of laundry. Dinner was one of my favorites, thai noodles with spicy peanut sauce. Since we already had some left over rice from Friday night we used that instead of the noodles and threw in the last of the pulled chicken with tofu cubes. Oh yum! Although the recipe calls for frozen veggies we usually just use whatever we have on hand. Tonight’s pot included:

  • 1/2 of a large zucchini
  • 1/2 of a medium onion
  • 1 carrot, julienned (like matchsticks)
  • mushrooms
  • 1/2 of a green pepper
  • 1/2 – 1 c. precooked brown rice
  • 1 package extra firm tofu, cubed
  • 1/2 c. shredded chicken

DSC_0403.JPG

My plate, topped with green onions, peanuts and lime. So good!

DSC_0404.JPG

Tonight’s dinner was one of my favorite meals and I never get tired of making it and adding new ingredients to the pot. Do you usually follow recipes just like they’re written or do you add your own flair to it?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 6:25 am

    Yea, the saving money trend is catching! I think we’re all growing up 😉

Leave a Reply

