Skip to content

Super-Charge Me!

May 22, 2010

Non-vegan Super-Charge Me! Cookies

(Adapted from eat, drink & be vegan by Dreena Burton)

After our veggie filled dinner I was craving some cookies and decided to bake some. I looked through a few CE magazines and ED&BV and settled on the Super-Charge Me cookies. I pulled everything out that I would need and made a few substitutions for things that we were missing. You know substitutions are my favorite thing (okay, not really but missing a few things isn’t going to keep me from trying a new recipe) so I just went with what we had.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. quick oats (I used old fashioned oats)
  • 1/2 c. spelt flour
  • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4-1/3 c. raisins or other chopped dried fruit
  • 3-4 tbs. chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/3 c. flax meal
  • 1/2 c. pure maple syurp (I didn’t have any so I used a combo of honey and agave but ran out of both and ended up with just over 1/4 c.)
  • 3 tbs. almond butter (I used Barney Butter)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extrace
  • 2 tbs. canola oil (I used vegetable oil)

DSC_0118.JPG

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl combine oats, flour, salt, cinnamon, coconut, raisins and chocolate chips. Sift in baking powder and stir until well combined.

DSC_0120.JPG DSC_0122.JPG

2. In a separate bowl, combine flax meal, syrup, almond butter and vanilla and stir well until combined. Stir in oil.

3. Add wet ingredients to dry, and stir until just well combined (do not overmix). Once I got to this step I noticed that my ingredients weren’t “wet” enough, probably because I didn’t have enough honey/agave and used the old fashion oats (bigger than quick oats) so Carl suggested using an egg. Hence the “non-vegan” title of my recipe.

DSC_0127.JPG

4. I was worried that the cookies would crumble completely so I decided to make “cookie bars” and put the mixture in a small baking dish and baked them for 13 minutes. Take them out or they will be dry!

DSC_0128.JPG DSC_0129.JPG   

5. Remove from oven and let cool on a cooling rack.

DSC_0130.JPG

6. Enjoy!

DSC_0132.JPG

Even with my substitutions these cookies were very good, and healthy too! I will definitely be making them again!

Do you have a favorite cookie recipe? I still think Montana Whoppers are my favorite.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 5:53 pm

    hey danielle i just found your blog. those cookies look awesome. i LOVE barney butter too! 🙂

    • May 23, 2010 7:17 pm

      Welcome to my blog! Thanks for visiting 🙂 While I was at Whole Foods today I found another brand called Justin’s that I’ve read about. Have you had that before? I can’t wait to try it.

  2. May 24, 2010 7:54 am

    yes i love it! the maple kind is delicious. i ❤ whole foods, i could spend hours there 🙂

Leave a Reply

