Skip to content

Coconut butter? Say what?

May 23, 2010

After I got home from Publix I made a quick lunch – BH cracked pepper turkey with guac, hummus, spinach, and bread and butter pickles on an everything bagel thin. On the side I had some Archer Farms blue corn chips with flax seeds, guac and red grapes. I think one of my most favorite meals is a sandwich. They are so good and I swear that to this day my mom makes the BEST sandwiches. Everything on her plate always used to taste better than mine, and still does 🙂

DSC_0141.JPG

I ran more errands after lunch, stopping at Marshalls and Whole Foods. I printed off WF coupons and used just about every one that they had. Score for saving moolah!

Dinner tonight was Honey Mustard Chicken with Rice Pilaf from Clean Eating (March/April 2010). I added some of the left over yucca fries around it for some extra crunch and goodness.

DSC_0145.JPG

It was darn good although next time that I make it I think I’ll use less apple cider vinegar since I’m not a big fan of vinegar to begin with.

As soon as we finished dinner Carl literally ran into the kitchen to dig into the coconut butter that I bought at Whole Foods. I’ve seen it around the blog world lately and was totally intrigued. For those of you who aren’t familiar with coconut butter it’s made from the whole coconut flesh so it’s a whole food, not just the oil. I think it kinda looks like surfboard wax.

DSC_0147.JPG

Carl was salivating thinking about all the possible ways to eat it…in fruit smoothies, homemade energy bars, sauces and salad dressings, fruit/coconut sorbet, mixed with cacao nibs. The possibilities are endless!

DSC_0149.JPG DSC_0150.JPG

Then he decided we should try it, straight out of the jar.

DSC_0152.JPG DSC_0153.JPG

DSC_0155.JPG DSC_0156.JPG  

Carl’s verdict? “It tastes like coconut flavored wax”

Then it was my turn.

DSC_0157.JPG DSC_0160.JPG

My verdict? Meh. And then the yummy flavor of coconut was left in my mouth and I can’t wait to try this on my oatmeal in the morning!

DSC_0162.JPG

Clearly when I asked my husband “Does my hair look okay” before he took the shot he wasn’t listening to me! And no, mom, the bags under my eyes haven’t gone away. Anyone have any good “anit-puff” under eye cream they’d like to recommend? Only three more Monday’s until the end of the school year!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2010 8:39 pm

    I have to be honest the thought of coconut flavored wax grosses me out. I think I will stick to the nut butters. As for the anti-puff, I am all about warm tea bags (15-30 minutes on) and a little concealer in the am.

  2. Kristen permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:21 am

    I am anxious to hear how it tastes in food.

    • May 24, 2010 10:13 pm

      I put a post up about it in more detail, but the short of it – it’s GOOOOD!

  3. May 24, 2010 8:19 pm

    SLEEP! That’s how to reduce the bags.

    If you can’t get enough sleep, try putting some spoons in the freezer and then place the back sides under your eyes. The cold will constrict the blood vessels and take away some of the puffiness. But SLEEP!

Leave a Reply

