Skip to content

Knead and Squeeze

May 24, 2010

After dinner I made lunches, per usual. I don’t normally post about lunches during the week because they are usually just leftovers from the night before but tonight lunch making was different. I read about Justin’s Almond Butter on Caitlin’s blog the other day I knew I had to pick some up when I saw it at Whole Foods yesterday. Can you guess what we’re having for lunch tomorrow?

DSC_0195.JPG

Can I say YUMMERS?!

DSC_0203.JPG

I’ve never had any kind of nut butter in a packet before so I was glad that they had directions on the back of the package. Simply stated, “Knead & Squeeze” – BWAAAHHHHA! I have to admit that I don’t think I kneaded enough before I squeezed because it was REALLY hard to get out the last of the almond butter in the package.

DSC_0205.JPG

Mmmm…maple almond butter with apricot spread. I can’t wait to have lunch tomorrow and let you know how it was!

DSC_0206.JPG DSC_0207.JPG

After dinner Carl and I played Wii sports and I totally kicked his butt in tennis and bowling. If only I could bowl as well in real life as I can in Wii bowling I’d be so happy! Fact: I’m AWFUL at bowling and rarely break 100. Shameful, I know.

I was looking out the window and saw the wind blowing and the sun setting and I decided to go for a run. It’s been at least a week since I went for my last run and with the Run for the Pies just three weeks away I knew I would have to start running again if I’d like to get close to (and beat!) my time from last year. It was HOT out so I decided to try my new running shorts out. You know they are from Lululemon and they are reverse groove shorts. I was skeptical at first because really, they are glorified bike shorts and no one wants to see me in bike shorts. However, after trying on literally 20 different pairs of “proper running shorts” I settled on these because I run in tighter running pants and like them so really, why change a good thing? When I first left the house they were totally riding up but as I got going they were fine. Okay, they ride up on the sides a little bit but I’m not showing anyone too much of what they don’t want to see so it’s good enough for me.

Hello world, meet my new running shorts!

DSC_0208.JPG

By the way, the run totally kicked booty. I ran two miles in under 22 minutes! Okay, it was like 21:45 but I’ll take it!

P.S.

I know many of you were interested in hearing how I liked the coconut butter in my oatmeal this morning. Sadly, I think I had an allergic reaction to it. I can’t be certain but this morning I woke up with itchy, swollen lips and it was one of the few things that I had that was “different” than the foods I normally eat. I was all ready to eat me some super yummy oats in a jar (OIAJ) of left over Barney Butter (LOVE!) and poured some in along with some frozen bananas. When I got to work and took a bite or two the itching got a bit worse so I tossed the whole jar – THE HORROR! After talking with Hilary about it she suggested making an appointment with an allergist to see what is going on with me and my body (hello weird food allergies popping up in the last year!) so I’m going next Wednesday. I realize that I could be allergic to any number of things, but for now I’m going to stay away from the coconut butter, just in case.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2010 7:42 pm

    Have you thought about food sensitivities too? They won’t necessarily show up on an allergy test. Matt and I did that crazy blood test a year and a half ago – I still questions the legitimacy of it…but, I can say that my crazy bowel issues have gone away now that I limit foods I’m supposedly sensitive to!

    • May 25, 2010 9:08 pm

      When I talked to the woman at the allergy doctor’s office I expressed an interest in food allergy testing so if they don’t do that at the office I’m hoping that they’ll refer me to someone who does.

Leave a Reply

