Skip to content

Shorts, salads and sweat

June 6, 2010

Okay this is the third time that I’ve tried to write this post because ecto keeps eating it! If somehow this is post is in your readers multiple times I apologize!

Today my goal was to find dresses for the summer. I totally struck out (except for the two I found at the Gap Outlet yesterday) although I did find a pair of shorts from Old Navy and ordered a dress that Hilary recommended online.

Not the best picture, but you get the idea
IMG_0100.JPG

As we were leaving Old Navy the sky opened up and poured on us. We were hungry so we took our chances and ran to Panera for lunch, getting completely soaked in the process.

For lunch I ordered the chicken tortilla soup with the asian chicken salad. Both were very tasty although the salad would have been better if it had more than three little pieces of chicken on it.

IMG_0102.JPG

Enjoying lunch after drying off a bit.

IMG_0103.JPG IMG_0107.JPG

When we got home I put in a load of laundry and decided to go for a run. I set out on my usual route thinking that I’d go to my usual spot and turn around but when I got there I felt really good so I kept going. I ran for another seven minutes (for a total of 18 out) before deciding to turn around. It wasn’t until that moment that I realized how hot it really was – I was literally DRIPPING with sweat! I really wish I would have brought my handheld with me and am convinced that I need to bring it on every run that I do outside from now on. Although I was super hot and felt like I was sluggish I made it back in 19 minutes, just a minute slower! I’m so thankful for the run, even though it wasn’t super fast, it felt great and is the farthest that I’ve gone in a few months. I think that I’m finally over my running funk!

DSC_0445.JPG

What do you do when you’re in an exercise funk? I think it helped to focus on running for time rather than distance or speed for the last few months. I’m also excited about trying new classes at the gym once school is over (just three more days!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie permalink
    June 7, 2010 9:05 am

    I’m still in my funk. I’ve been trying to retrain my body to exercise in the morning. I’ve never been a fan so i’ve set a smaller goal and have had to let go of what I “was” doing and focus on what I can do now. I’ve started over a little bit so it’s a little discouraging but it does feel good when i’m done. So i just get up and say, “i’m only running 2 miles and then you’re done.” Which feels like such a step backwards but i know it may be the only way to get back in to it.
    Keep up the good work, it helps to read your posts, it’s also a motivation.

    • June 7, 2010 8:58 pm

      Thanks Jennie! I’m so glad that you posted a comment šŸ™‚

      You are doing a GREAT job at trying to get back into the running groove. There are LOTS of times that it’s easier to say “I’ll just skip my run” because things get in the way so it’s awesome that you are trying to do it in the morning. I also find it difficult to run in the morning but may need to start as the summer goes on because it’s so HOT. It does feel nice to “get it out of the way” and know that while everyone is sleeping we’re getting our exercise on.

      You can do it!

  2. June 21, 2010 5:34 pm

    I have been in a funk too, for about a month…but I think I have the motivation out of it that I need…stay tuned.

    You’re looking hot, mama.

Leave a Reply

