Skip to content

School’s out for summer = mustache mania

June 10, 2010

Yesterday was the last day of school for the students. Woo Hoo! The year went by so fast I can hardly believe that it’s over – another class is moving up and the sweet, innocent little 6th graders that I taught three years ago are off to the high school. Even more amazing is that the very first class of 7th graders that I taught graduated from high school last week!

The teachers at my school have a tradition of walking out with the students and waving them good-bye as the buses go around the bus loop. It is one of my favorite times of the year and as happy as I am to see them move on, it totally makes me tear up to see them go. I think it was especially emotional because this is the first class to be in our school from 6th grade through 8th grade since our school opened three years ago. It’s amazing to see the transformation that the students go through (especially the boys!) from the time they come in as 6th graders and leave as 9th graders.

I stayed a bit later than I thought I would cleaning up my room and getting my binders all organized and ready for next year. I’m not going to lie, seeing my classroom with it’s bare, white walls is pretty depressing! It just means that I get to start all fresh and new next year, which I’m really looking forward to doing (although feeling a bit overwhelmed by already!).

DSC_0448.JPG

ETA: picture of my very empty, white classroom

To celebrate the end of the school year “the gang” decided to meet downtown. Carl and I met at Kristin’s house to follow her and some friends (Rachel, Mike and Ashley) downtown when I told them a funny story about last summer. See, last summer Carl and I went to Cocoa Beach to meet up with my friends, Juli and Dave. Well, one night we were out and Juli’s brother thought it would be funny to draw a mustache on my finger so when I put my finger under my nose it would look like I had a mustache. (I promise this was really funny at the time!)

My mustache last summer
IMG_2078.JPG

For some reason I told the story to Ashley and Rachel and they died laughing…and then proceeded to draw mustaches for everyone. “Mustache Mania” was born and clearly explains what happens when the students go home for the summer!

Carl’s ‘stache
IMG_0112.JPG

My ‘stache and soul patch (!!)

IMG_0114.JPG

Mike’s ‘stache

IMG_0115.JPG  

Rache’s ‘stache

IMG_0123.JPG

Kristin’s ‘stache

IMG_0124.JPG

Lindsay got a new mouth and ‘stache

IMG_0126.JPG

For some reason I didn’t get everyone’s picture but there were literally 12 of us out (in public!) with these mustaches. We even got our waitress to “wear” one. Love it!

IMG_0118.JPG

Do you have any funny stories of things that you’ve done out in public with a group of friends? This is about the funniest one that I’ve got!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 7:11 pm

    LOL about the ‘staches! Too funny!

  2. June 11, 2010 12:05 am

    You are just too cute for words with your finger mustaches!

  3. June 11, 2010 5:45 am

    ROFLing here…
    what a great mustaches…!! ay ay ay..

  4. June 11, 2010 2:01 pm

    I bet you are such an awesome teacher! Now I really know we’ll get along because finger mustaches often make an appearance amongst my friends, especially after a drink or 2. How can you NOT laugh and what’s better than that?!

    • June 11, 2010 3:01 pm

      HAHA! I can’t believe you to finger mustaches too! How awesome!

  5. June 21, 2010 5:44 pm

    Ah, I saw these pics on FB and now I know the story 🙂

Leave a Reply

