Skip to content

Bikes and Brunch

June 19, 2010

The last week has been a whirlwind, to say the least. I had hoped that once school ended I would have been able to be more consistent with blogging but it obviously hasn’t worked out that way. Ah well, I’ll just have to catch you all up with what’s been going on.

6.12.10

When Hilary sent me a text asking if I wanted to join her, Mr. R and Kristin for a bike ride around Princess Place I was so excited! During the summers Hilary is an instructor at Marine Science Camp and while she’s had the Princess Place rotation before, they’d never biked the trails. Like the awesome teacher that she is, Hilary wanted to check them out before starting on Monday so she’d know what she was getting herself into and I’m sure she’s glad that she did!

One of the trails was dirt and I was super glad that I was using a mountain bike because some of the sand was quite soft. Hilary had a more difficult time with her Trek Hybrid and I know she was hoping that the bikes the students would be on (some kind of hybrid with thicker tires that a typical hybrid but thinner than a mountain bike) would fair a bit better than she did. The dirt trail dead-ended at a river (perhaps the Matanzas?) and of course we had to investigate.

IMG_0127.JPG

IMG_0128.JPG

IMG_0129.JPG

IMG_0133.JPG

IMG_0134.JPG

The other trail was paved and much easier to ride on. Check out how Hilary’s group faired on their first day of riding!

After our bike ride we headed over to Kristin’s house for brunch, or more like lunch since it was nearly 1pm before we actually ate.

Ashley brought over a waffle maker and all the fixin’s for some goodness. Somehow my plate escaped the eye of the camera but everything was delish!

IMG_0135.JPG

IMG_0136.JPG

I love my girlfriends!

We are going to try and make Saturday Brunch a bi-weekly/monthly event so we can catch up and visit. Even though we all work together there will be days or even a whole week that I won’t see Kristin or Ashley because they are on a different team and in a different part of the school than Hilary and I. What do you do to keep up with your friends/family?

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 5:48 pm

    Blog and Facebook, occasionally a phone call, but I don’t like to talk on the phone like I used to…which means those people that don’t blog and FB I’m not as close with anymore. It’s hard to stay in touch sometimes.

Leave a Reply

