Skip to content

Welcome to Hotlanta!

June 19, 2010

I left for a training/conference on Monday and made the 6.5 hour drive to Atlanta with four of my co-workers. Although we were all originally going to stay in the same hotel, Amy got an amazing deal at the Intercontinental for only $75/night on priceline.com .

Welcome to Atlanta!

Turner Field

IMG_0140.JPG

The Atlanta Skyline

IMG_0141.JPG

I must have been in a weird picture taking mood the few days that we were in Atlanta because I have the most random pictures! I don’t even have one picture of our beautiful hotel or the beautiful school that the conference was held at!

I can give you a list of the locations that we ate at and tell you that the food was simply AMAZING. Why oh why didn’t I take more pictures?!

Monday night we ate at Fado and I had the Tomato Mozzarella Baguette – Ripe tomato and mozzarella with fresh basil and balsamic vinaigrette on a warm baguette. Served with a small salad.

Tuesday night we had plans to try an Italian restaurant that Amy recommended about 20 minutes from the area we were staying in but the weather was looking pretty bad.

Pictures taken from our hotel room on the 14th floor

IMG_0145.JPG

IMG_0146.JPG

Instead we ate at the Buckhead Diner. I actually have pictures of some of this food! We started with the blue cheese chips (amazing!) and I had a cup of creamy tomato soup with white cheddar popcorn.

IMG_0148.JPG

For my entree I had the fried egg and grilled cheese BLT on country Italian bread with a side of their silverqueen corn and white cheddar grits. Oh man was this AMAZING! I don’t even like grits but these were so freakin’ good that I’m salivating just thinking about them!

IMG_0149.JPG

Wednesday morning we were craving some real breakfast so Amy walked over to Caribou Coffee for breakfast (we shared a dounut and a blueberry muffin, although neither of us ate much) and a much needed amazing cup of coffee. This was the view from our hotel, without the rain.

IMG_0147.JPG

I loved the sayings that were all over the coffee cup!

IMG_0150.JPG IMG_0151.JPG IMG_0152.JPG

We were totally shot after the last few days in the workshop (my brain is still full and swirling with new information!) so we opted for Everybody’s Pizza. We shared an order of their parmesan breadsticks with cheese (I took the cheese off of my piece) and I had the thai chicken peanut pizza salad – organic mixed greens, house roasted chicken, onion, chopped cucumber, fire roasted red peppers and peanuts tossed in spicy Thai peanut dressing on a honeyroast garlic and ricotta pizza.   

IMG_0153.JPG

Lordy it was giant and so good! I barely made a dent in it and was sad that we didn’t have a place to store the left-overs that would have been so good the following day.

We checked out of our hotel Thursday morning and I was able to get a picture of this awesomeness that the hotel provides from their runners.

IMG_0154.JPG

How cool is that?! Although I only used the gym once while I was there (I ran 2 miles and felt like I was going to die on the treadmill – hate it!) I could totally appreciate the gesture that the hotel made. It was truly an amazing place and although I certainly won’t be staying there anytime soon I’d love to try to get an awesome rate on priceline to go back!

What are some of your favorite places to stay while you travel? Do you like big, fancy places or do you just need a place to lay your head down? I’m certainly not all about the expensive hotels, but the room and bathrooms must be clean enough that I don’t have to worry about the previous people who stayed in the room.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 6:02 pm

    I’ve never been to Atlanta – your restaurants choices looked so yummy! Billy and I get free accommodations at luxury resorts when we are traveling for work (I know, ridiculous!) but when we are actually paying for the hotel, we always look for an incredible bargain! Of course, you know this since I’m one of your 3 roomies sharing a hotel room in Chicago. 🙂

  2. June 21, 2010 6:10 pm

    That’s a sweet deal for an Intercontinental! I only used Priceline once and had a problem so swore it off, but I know other people who’ve had great deals…

    You never mentioned what your conference was all about?

    I like a good mixture of types of places in my travels. Although I will never turn down a fancy place!

Leave a Reply

