Skip to content

Happy Father’s Day!

June 20, 2010

Happy Father’s Day out there to all of the amazing dads out there. Yes, that’s all of the dads – furdads, step-dads, grandpas, single moms, and of course the traditional dads.

Each year I celebrate my amazing Gramps who is truly one of the most amazing men that I’ve ever met. I could go on and on about the wonderful things that he’s done in my life but I’ll keep it short and sweet as to not embarrass him too much (and keep him from getting a big head!)

–I took flute lessons in HS and Gramps took me each week up until the time that I could drive myself. I don’t know how he did it, driving nearly 30 minutes to take me there and then trying to find something to do for the hour while I was at my lesson.

–My Gramps isn’t a patient man but he rarely lost his patience with me – even when I was learning to drive!

–He lovingly tells stories about my Gram – from their time together in HS, how much he missed her while he was serving in WWII even though they weren’t together, what it was like seeing her when he returned, their marriage and his love for her. These memories were very special to me while she was in hospice before she passed away (nearly 8 years ago) as I was really struggling with the relationship I was in at the time (which clearly didn’t work out and I’m so thankful for!)

DSC_0304.JPG DSC_0307.JPG

–He reads several newspapers and listens to the news nearly all day. He is one of the most informed people that I know and I always call him to see what is going on.   

–He goes out dancing every Thursday – Sunday evenings with his girlfriend Rosita. He is 89, she is 74 and I think it’s awesome on just about every level that he is still so active (even if he spends the time that he’s not reading or watching the news napping in his chair!).

Dancing with Rosita at our wedding 2.5 years ago

ZC3I3352 ZC3I3353

ZC3I3355 ZC3I3359

–He makes the most amazing homemade pizza. Yum!

–He tried a green monster and LOVES them! He even makes them on his own. Score!

DSC_0312.JPG

–He gave me away at my wedding and it was a dream come true!

ZC3I2751 ZC3I2758

I love you Gramps! I’m so thankful for the influence that you’ve had in my life!

  DSC_0101.JPG

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mama Carter permalink
    June 21, 2010 7:46 am

    What a beautiful tribute to Gramps Dani! I am sure when I celebrate with him today and show the gift you have given him he will tear up from the memories. You know how much he loves you too!

    • June 21, 2010 9:14 am

      Thanks Mom! You know I could have gone on forever but it was emotional enough to write about those things 🙂

      I’m also excited that you left a comment! Woo hoo! Love you!

      • Gramps permalink
        June 21, 2010 9:54 am

        I am honored that the grandaughter that I love so much, loves me to take the time to send me this wonderful tribute. It is hard to think of yourself as being important to a grandaughter that I admire so much. Thank you for your love.

      • June 21, 2010 1:12 pm

        Aww! I love you Gramps! Thank you for all you’ve done and continue to do in my life!

        xoxox

  2. June 21, 2010 6:13 pm

    Oh, you’ve got me in tears.

Leave a Reply

