Skip to content

Sandwiches and stir-frys

June 21, 2010

It’s amazing how different Mondays feel when you don’t have to go to work 🙂 Okay, definitely not rubbing it in that I have the next two months off (because they are packed with traveling and workshops) but I am so thankful that I have this time to relax and recharge from the school year.

This morning Carl and I woke up fairly early to get some things done around the house and then I headed up to the gym to meet Ashley and Rachel for a Body Pump class at 10am. We also went to one this past Saturday and it just reaffirmed how much I love it.

I know that I said I’d be going back to TNT but I was out of town last Monday (summer trip #1 – for work) and tomorrow I’m leaving on a jet plane (summer trip #2 – for fun) for a mini-reunion in Connecticut (Sharon will be there!) and didn’t think it would be too smart to put myself through all hell and not be able to walk through the airport. Don’t you worry, I’ll be hittin’ up that class when I get back. I will not let it defeat me!

While I was at the gym Carl surprised me with a new camera bag as an early birthday present! My birthday is next month (July 10th and I’m going to be 30!!) but since I’m going to be traveling next week Carl went ahead and gave it to me. Sweet! It’s bigger than my old one and should fit two new lenses that I’m hoping to eventually get, a telephoto lens and a 35mm prime lens. I also hope to use it as a purse to hold my wallet, keys and other odds and ends that I seem to need but not have when I carry my current case. I can’t wait to try it out and hopefully it will work out. I’ll do a more formal review when I get back from vacation.

When I got home we made a simple lunch, but one of my favorites – sandwiches!

DSC_0504.JPG

On the sandwich I had BH turkey breast, homemade guac, tomato, spinach and a slice of american cheese. The usual suspects were on the side.

I was looking forward to dinner all day – veggie stir fry! Carl was in charge of chopping up the veggies while I made the sauce.

DSC_0514.JPG

The veggies included:

  • carrots
  • broccoli
  • yellow squash
  • baby bellas
  • onions
  • green pepper

I found a great recipe for honey soy sauce that is really great but I didn’t read the directions the whole way through before I started combining things so instead of sauteeing the veggies in the olive oil it went into the sauce. Oops! Because we had more veggies than the recipe called for I doubled the recipe.

DSC_0513.JPG  

Looks pretty cool though!

DSC_0518.JPG

The goodness with the sauce

DSC_0524.JPG

My bowl, topped with bean sprouts and salt and pepper cashews. The bowl was awesome but the flavor of the cashews was totally lost. I think peanuts would have been better.

DSC_0528.JPG

I ate about 3/4 of the bowl before passing the rest of it off to Carl. It was so good though. I love how dinner can be so good and so easy. What are some of your easy go-to dinners?

Tomorrow I’m hoping to get up early and get a run in before I leave for the airport. See you in the morning!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 11:05 pm

    Can’t wait to see you tomorrow…in New York!

  2. June 22, 2010 9:07 am

    our easy go-to meal is meant for spring and harvest, since we are farmers. I made about 10 lbs. of homemade hamburgers with lean ground beef from my pastor’s heard of cows. My sister n’ law and I got together and made a huge batch of burger patties and froze them so we can just take what we need and make them fast for the guys to take in the field but they certainly come in handy on the nights i have no desire to cook. I don’t eat much red meat so these are lean and very delicious.

    Have a great girl-time, Ally is coming to see me in July and I can’t wait and am savoring the time with a friend. So lap it up!

Leave a Reply

