Skip to content

Picnics, houses, and farms…oh my!

June 25, 2010

When we woke up Wednesday morning we were actually able to see our beautiful surroundings. This is my first time visiting Connecticut and I was loving all of the beautiful GREEN leaves and trees that I saw when I opened the front door.

Dana and A walking Dakota. Look at that front yard!

DSC_0030.JPG

DSC_0033.JPG DSC_0035.JPG

Breakfast was amazing blueberry pancakes made by Dana and A

DSC_0044.JPG DSC_0047.JPG  DSC_0050.JPG   

Check out my plate πŸ™‚

DSC_0055.JPG

Breakfast! Blueberry pancakes with a sausage link and buttah (x2)

DSC_0057.JPG

After breakfast we played around a little bit and then got ready for the day – an adventure at the Mark Twain House.

DSC_0049.JPG DSC_0051.JPG

Before we went in to get tickets for the tour we had a picnic! It’s been ages since I had a true picnic outside on the grass. In true picnic fashion we had PB&J sandwiches along with bbq popchips and veggie chips. Lordy those pop chips are good and after many handfuls I had to make sure that the bag was removed from my portion of the blanket.

DSC_0061.JPG

Our little group

DSC_0064.JPG

DSC_0063.JPG DSC_0070.JPG

When we went inside there was this awesome lego man of Mark Twain…

DSC_0075.JPG DSC_0082.JPG

…and this lovely cut-out where you too can be Mark Twain!

DSC_0078.JPG  

Just in case you didn’t know, the tour of the house is a ‘guided tour’ and you aren’t allowed to touch anything (be sure to put on your looking eyes!) so it isn’t super kid friendly and I’m not really a big fan of guided tours. I’m more of an ‘explore and read signs’ person than a ‘listen and walk’ person but the house itself is quite beautiful. No pictures are allowed so I just have a few pictures of the outside of the building.

DSC_0086.JPG DSC_0089.JPG DSC_0092.JPG DSC_0099.JPG DSC_0102.JPG

I made it through the tour of the first floor before I had to go to the bathroom and decided to spend the rest of the time sitting with Lisa, Dana and the little ones (who really weren’t into the tour).

After Sara and Sharon finished the tour (it was about an hour) we headed downtown to do more kid friendly activities like the playground and carousel.

DSC_0123.JPG  DSC_0126.JPG DSC_0148.JPG DSC_0150.JPG

After everyone went on the carousel Dana and I got some popsicles! Yum!

DSC_0168.JPG

On our way home we stopped by Oxen Hill Farms, CSA  (more on this amazing place in another blog post, but if you live in North Central Connecticut/ Southern Massachusetts area you should totally look into it!) to pick some yellow squash and kale.

DSC_0175.JPG DSC_0179.JPG DSC_0181.JPG DSC_0183.JPG DSC_0206.JPG DSC_0221.JPG

Dinner was a salad

DSC_0222.JPG

various chicken sausages (andouille, sundried tomato and apple)

DSC_0223.JPG

and squash souflee (with the freshly picked squash from the farm!)

DSC_0227.JPG

My plate (x2) of apple sausage, salad and squash casserole

DSC_0228.JPG

We spent the evening doing one of my favorite things, talking around the dinner table. I think it was well after midnight when we went to sleep (and I know I was yawning and had my eyes closing for quite some time) but it was so worth it πŸ™‚

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

