Skip to content

Sea Life

June 26, 2010

We had a big day ahead of us since we were driving nearly an hour and a half to the Mystic Aquarium so breakfast had to be easy and somewhat quick.

Plain chobani with chocolate granola, blackberries and a drizzle of honey
DSC_0229.JPG

When we arrived at the aquarium we were pretty hungry so we decided to have another picnic lunch just like yesterday.

Precious little ones!
DSC_0237.JPG

When we got to the aquarium they took the obligatory picture in front of the green screen but I also made sure that they took one of us with my camera too. It wasn’t bad either!

DSC_0238.JPG

All the fun things we got to see and do!

DSC_0239.JPG DSC_0248.JPG  

DSC_0243.JPG DSC_0248.JPG

DSC_0262.JPG DSC_0265.JPG DSC_0276.JPG DSC_0302.JPG DSC_0307.JPG DSC_0309.JPG DSC_0321.JPG  

We also walked around the aquarium inside and it had a lot of really great exhibits. It’s a great aquarium and I would definitely recommend it! We left the aquarium with just enough time to dodge some pretty large raindrops and luckily Sharon and Dana brought the cars up to the front so we didn’t get too wet.

On our way home we made a quick stop at Eastern Mountain Sports. I’d never heard of it before but Sharon said that she’s ordered stuff from there several times before. It was your typical outdoor store with all kinds of gear and clothing and I bought a new carabener to attach the water bottle that I bought at the aquarium to my camera bag/purse.

Once we got back to Lisa’s place we put out some hummus, veggies and goat cheese that we picked up at a local store on our way home. Much food was consumed while we got dinner started and waited for Lisa’s husband, Jonathan, to get home.

DSC_0324.JPG DSC_0325.JPG

I was in charge of seasoning the steaks and Jonathan served as the grillmaster. Dana helped out too 🙂

DSC_0332.JPG DSC_0334.JPG  DSC_0337.JPG

The steaks looked great but I knew that they were all still a little too red for my taste.

DSC_0338.JPG

I cut one in half and back to the grill it went. We had the steaks with a lovely salad that included zucchini, tomatoes, romaine and was topped with feta and a little ranch dressing.

DSC_0341.JPG

The night before Dana made some zucchini bread but it came out a little bit too dense than we were all expecting.

DSC_0347.JPG DSC_0352.JPG  DSC_0353.JPG

I didn’t have any then but after a small taste test we decided that it probably wasn’t worth the calories even though it had a really great flavor so she made some chocolate chip cookies instead. They were darn good and I think I had three that managed to escape the camera’s eye 😉

We spent the remainder of the night around the dining room table, just like the night before, talking about old times, who our friends were, what we did while we weren’t teaching, what we did while we were teaching and other such nonsense. It was awesome and we stayed up until well after 2am! I can’t even remember the last time I went to sleep that late. At times our conversations got quite emotional as we talked about how we missed each other and how much more difficult it is to form relationships after HS/College/Grad school. It’s like there is something about those times in our lives that make us more vulnerable and open up to people as we figure out who we are.

DSC_0358.JPG DSC_0368.JPG DSC_0365.JPG

I think one of my favorite pictures of the evening is this one of Dana. While we were staying with Lisa she helped organize their kitchen cabinets (I’m still hoping that she’ll come down and help Carl and I with our closets!). It’s amazing what you’ll find stuffed in the drawers when you have kids!

DSC_0372.JPG

Do you think it’s harder to form close relationships as an adult? I definitely think it is more difficult and takes longer to form close relationships as an adult. I am not exactly sure what that is, but I am very thankful that I do have such amazing friends “old and new” 🙂

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2010 9:39 pm

    I completely agree, it is much harder to form relationships as an adult, I think it’s also because we don’t have as many opportunities to share our lives with one another in such a natural and also “forced” way as you do when you’re in youth groups or school settings. It’s hard trying to just form a friendship without the past history to help build on, you can’t force it and it gets frustrating at times. I’m so fortunate to have the old friends to still cling to and share with.

    • June 29, 2010 9:29 pm

      I agree! When I ever get a passport I’ll have to come and visit you!

  2. Lisa permalink
    June 27, 2010 10:34 pm

    I count myself VERY blessed to have found friends such as you guys. The house feels empty without you! xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

