Skip to content

The lake and the plane

June 27, 2010

I can hardly believe that Saturday marked the end of my visit to Connecticut! It was so awesome to visit with the girls (and husbands and babies) again and Carl and I are already talking about when we’ll go back to visit.

Breakfast was plain Chobani with chocolate granola, Kashi heart to heart and a drizzle of honey.

DSC_0407.JPG

All mixed up!

DSC_0408.JPG

The last adventure Lisa had planned for us was a visit to the lake on some family property. The property was pretty much a clearing with a path carved out along the steep side of a hill/mountain. It was completely rustic and beautiful!

Sara and Sharon at the bottom of the hill

DSC_0410.JPG

Dana taking A down to the water

DSC_0411.JPG DSC_0413.JPG

Apparently at one time there was a cabin on the property that burned down. All that remains is the chimney which made for a neat picture.

DSC_0417.JPG

DSC_0427.JPG

I was also able to get another shot of the lake, although this picture doesn’t give it justice as it’s giant and goes on for miles!

DSC_0428.JPG

While we were there Lisa’s brother-in-law showed up with his two kids and took Sharon, Sara and A out on the boat. Lisa and I stayed back with baby I and had a lovely conversation. I’m so thankful that I was able to make the trip and spend some time with a few of my favorite people.

DSC_0430.JPG DSC_0434.JPG  

The last group shot of the trip

DSC_0441.JPG

When we got back to the house we showered up and ate some lunch of left over pizza. Eventually it was time to leave so Sara, Sharon and I said out somewhat tearful goodbyes and headed off to the airport. Sara and I were so sleepy (or maybe the dramamine kicked in for me) because we both napped for the whole two hour drive! We arrived at the airport a bit early and Sharon dropped me off so I could go ahead and go in and get passed security while she and Sara went to gas up the rental car.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again – I dislike the Westchester airport with a passion! It’s very small and cramped and this time the air was out where everyone waits at the gate. I also wasn’t super happy that there weren’t any water fountains for me to fill up my water bottle after I passed through security and the only food vendor (which has some great looking sandwiches, fruits and drinks) there was CASH ONLY. I know it’s my fault for not carrying cash while I travel (and I probably would have been out of it by the end of my trip anyways!) but I couldn’t buy ANYTHING unless I went back into the “unsecure” area where the restaurant is located. GRRR!

I blogged a bit to pass the time until it was finally time to board the plane. Since it was a PACKED flight I decided to upgrade my seat to business class and I was so excited and happy that I did!

Horrible self portrait of me before take-off

DSC_0445.JPG

I’ve never ridden in business class before but it was AWESOME! They offer you a drink as soon as you board and there is a TON of leg room, especially for me since I’m so short. They also give you special snacks instead of pretzels so I grabbed a two pack of milano cookies that I ate with my super unhealthy dinner of a Jr. whopper with fries after the plane landed in ATL.

DSC_0444.JPG  

Check out those fluffy clouds!

DSC_0447.JPG

All of the flights heading home went really well and I was thankful that the dramamine kicked in and I didn’t notice any motion of the plane. My flight landed in Jax a few minutes early so I met Carl outside and we made it home and went to sleep a little after 1am. What an awesome vacation!

Thank you so much for having us all up there Lisa! I can’t wait to come and visit again soon 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

