Skip to content

Who says workshops can’t be FUN?

June 28, 2010

I guess all of the relaxing that I did yesterday helped out because this morning I woke up refreshed and ready for the day. I even managed to eat breakfast and read some blogs before I left the house to pick up snacks and water bottles for the workshop today.

Breakfast was overnight oats in a giant almond butter jar. I mixed up 1/2 c. quick oats and 1 c. hemp milk with the remaining almond butter in the jar and let it mush together in the fridge overnight. This morning I added about 1/2 c. fresh blueberries and a drizzle of honey. Yum!

DSC_0475.JPG

Snacks included a pack of goldfish and a handful of almonds and dried fruit. Lunch was left over pizza (2 slices) from last night and a Sweet Leaf peach tea with this awesome saying in the cap. I think one of my favorite parts of drinking the tea is the messages that they have in the cap!

DSC_0477.JPG

I think the workshop went pretty well today. It probably helped that we had fun toys for them to play with when they needed to “check out” for a bit (but still listen, of course!), had breaks to process the information and incorporated lots of fun activities.

How can you NOT have fun when you get to make stuff like this and actually have it be relevant to the information that you’re learning?!

DSC_0505.JPG DSC_0511.JPG

  DSC_0504.JPG DSC_0485.JPG DSC_0488.JPG

Definitely the highlight of my day!

When I got home from the workshop Carl and I were off to the gym. I’m so proud of us for making it! We pounded out 3 miles on the treadmill, which took FOR-EV-ER! I ran with just a few short walk breaks and finished in just under 45 minutes. Yikes! It was pretty disappointing but just showed me how much fitness that I’ve lost over the last few months. Carl did a great job of reminding me that everyone has to start somewhere and that we should just be proud that we are making changes in our lives to be healthy and active…and that’s why I love my husband! Perhaps there is also a race in the somewhat near future but I’m still debating about registering. I’ll let you know when/if we do, but fingers crossed is all that I’ll say 🙂

Three miles down! (sweaty and gross with the point and shoot!)

IMG_0166.JPG

Dinner was nice and light, perfect for how hot I was when we got home from the gym. We had tuna fish with a little bit of mustard, apple cider vinegar, kidney beans, peas, salsa and 1/2 of an avocado. No salt added Garden of Eatin’ blue corn chips are back there for scooping.

DSC_0528.JPG

Isn’t this picture gross?! This is why I never wear cotton when I run. Never again!

DSC_0529.JPG  

Do you have meals that you enjoy more in the summer time?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

