Skip to content

July 1st

July 1, 2010

How in the world is it already July 1st?! Where is the summer going? I can’t believe school ended almost a month ago and I haven’t been home longer than three days at a time since then.

I also can’t believe that next Saturday is MY BIRTHDAY! It’s not just any birthday though, it’s my 30th birthday and I’m actually really looking forward to it. Okay, there are definitely moments where I freak out a bit, like yesterday when I was getting ready at the gym and was wearing my favorite things – jeans, a t-shirt and a pair of old running shoes and I actually wondered, “it is okay for me to be wearing this in my 30’s?” Of course I realize that it is okay (right?!) but I always imagined my 30’s to be a little different, as though someone would flip a switch and suddenly I’d have a sense of style, a haircut that makes me look a little older than 20 and would really feel comfortable in my own skin. I am really making progress on feeling comfortable in my own skin as I progress on my journey towards being healthy (note: I said healthy and not thin, which is huge for me to see the difference between the two!) and hopefully with the help of my friends I will eventually have a sense of style and with my stylist I will eventually have a hairstyle that I truly love.

I woke up this morning with the cleaning bug and got to work sweeping and dusting before we leave to visit our parents a few hours south. Cleaning is my least favorite activity of all chores but it really does feel good to come home to a clean house. Carl woke up about an hour and a half later and made a delish omelette with cheese and some left over breakfast potatoes with a side of dry toast. I ate everything but left about half of the potatoes on the plate.

DSC_0598.JPG  

After breakfast I made the executive decision to go to the gym even though it would mean that we’d leave the house a little bit later than we wanted to. I was feeling a little overwhelmed with packing and cleaning (as I always do the day we leave to go somewhere) and I knew that a trip to the gym would clear our heads, so off we went. I decided to get my second run of the week in (as did Carl) and maintained a 12:30 pace for two miles on the treadmill and only took one short walk break, which is pretty darn good for me since I don’t usually run at a constant pace when I run outside.

When we came home we finished packing and are now going to have some lunch. I’m super excited to have the rest of the burrito from last night. Yum!

DSC_0606.JPG

When I see you next I’ll be at Mom’s house. I can’t wait to see her, Gramps and the rest of the family over the next week!

Are you where you thought you’d be at this stage in your life? How did you feel about some “milestone birthdays” that you’ve had in your life?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 6:16 pm

    I honestly thought I would be okay when I turned 30…but I hated it! Now that I am 32…I still don’t like to say it!! How strange is that? None of my friends minded turning 30 but it definitely bothered me for some reason…I guess I miss my 20s…Maybe when I turn 33 soon I’ll get more comfortable saying and being in my 30s…but for now…I’ll pretend I’m still 29!! Happy early Birthday and have a fun and safe trip!

    • July 7, 2010 9:23 pm

      Thanks Caroline 🙂 It’s been really interesting reading the comments about turning 30 because nearly all of them say how much they hated it but how it’s growing on them as they become more comfortable with themselves. I guess we’ll see how it goes on Saturday 🙂

  2. July 1, 2010 6:25 pm

    Last summer, on my 30th, I woke up crying. I took it pretty hard but what can you do? I asked myself the same questions about what i “should” and “shouldn’t” be doing now that I’m in the 30’s but realized that it’s ok and I’m doing fine and I don’t dress inapporpriately. Maybe i’ll check back with myself when I start a family, that may or may not change those things to an extent. Happy almost birthday!

    • July 7, 2010 9:24 pm

      Oh my! I had no idea that you woke up crying, heck I feel bad that I didn’t even call! I am glad to see that I’m not alone in my fears but I do wonder if most men feel the way women seem to about their 30th birthday.

  3. lisa permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:47 am

    I won’t lie, I was a bit traumatized by 30. it was the first milestone birthday that i had ever had an idea about what i expected to have happened, and i wasn’t there yet on a few counts. that changed quickly, and i have been fine ever since, but i still catch myself looking at other people that are my age and thinking, dang, they look kind of old…and tired….wait…that’s me too! 😉

    • July 7, 2010 9:25 pm

      You are too funny 🙂 I just wonder if it’s something that we grow into and feel comfortable with as we get older – or if it’s just something that we will always be in denial about 🙂

  4. July 2, 2010 8:38 pm

    Well, if it makes you feel any better, I’m nearing 34 and I wear jeans, tshirts and running shoes quite often.
    I can’t say that I’m thrilled about being in my 30s, mostly because I don’t feel like I enjoyed my 20s enough. But, all we can do is treat our bodies kindly with good food and exercise and try to enjoy life, even though wrinkles and gray hair are due to set in. 😉
    I hope you have a very happy birthday.

    • July 7, 2010 9:35 pm

      What a great way to think about getting older! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

