Skip to content

A very merry unbirthday to me!

July 2, 2010

Little did I know that when my Mom told me that we’d be celebrating my birthday tonight that it would kinda be an all day celebration, kinda by accident!

This morning Carl and I dropped mom off at work and then took her car into the shop to get some work done on it. When we got home we shared a bagel with cream cheese and a side of blueberries, a banana and some pineapple and then decided to go back to sleep for a few hours. Oh the joys of vacation!

DSC_0633.JPG

Once we finally got moving we headed over to his parents house to meet up with his Grandma and Aunt Ann for lunch.

Keith (Carl’s brother), Grandma J, Ross (Carl’s dad)

DSC_0637.JPG

Aunt Ann and Irene (Carl’s mom)

DSC_0638.JPG

Carl and Keith – “It’s bright and I can’t see!”

DSC_0639.JPG

Carl and me

DSC_0641.JPG

We were all a little bit nervous about the weather since it was pretty cloudy and it looked like there was a storm moving in. At the same time the wind was blowing a bit (okay, a lot) and it was cool and very lovely to be outside despite the looming rain clouds.

DSC_0643.JPG DSC_0644.JPG

Lunch was definitely not the healthiest but it was pretty good for a little beach side restaurant.

The sides – onion rings, fries, tots and tots with cheese. I had a few of each but tired not to indulge too much.
DSC_0646.JPG

My sandwich – a BLT with way to much mayo. I knew I should have asked for the sandwich without so I spent quite a bit of time trying to wipe it off. Oh well, it was still good 🙂

DSC_0647.JPG

We were lucky that the rain held off and we were able to sit and visit with the family for about two hours. I’m always thankful for the time we get to spend with Grandma J and Aunt Ann so I’m very glad that they were able to come up for lunch today.

DSC_0652.JPG

When we got back to Carl’s parents house we had a few orange cake balls (so good and hopefully I’ll be able to get the recipe!) and I was able to open the birthday present that was waiting for me on the table when we got there.

DSC_0661.JPG

The card had a great quote written in it,

And in the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years

–Abraham Lincoln

Which really speaks to me as I’m about to turn 30 in just eight days!

DSC_0667.JPG

The loot!

DSC_0720.JPG

Carl looking a bit like a turkey with the bag on his head – haha!

DSC_0669.JPG

The pups – Sport and Tucker

DSC_0670.JPG DSC_0671.JPG

When we got home Carl and I were in charge of cooking dinner but I was so tired Carl took over (thanks babe!) and it was awesome! Okay, the chicken was a little salty but once everything was piled on it was awesome 🙂 We had taco salad with

  • mojo marinated chicken
  • lettuce
  • tomatoes
  • fresh corn on the cob (I didn’t eat the corn in the background)
  • sauteed peppers and onions
  • black beans
  • shredded cheese
  • chobani plain yogurt (instead of sour cream and it tasted so good I didn’t even “know” it wasn’t sour cream)
  • salsa

Along with a few blue corn chips and two pita chips. Yum!

DSC_0687.JPG

After dinner we talked about all kinds of things, ranging from the latest technology to politics. I think one of my favorite things about visiting with our family is the conversations and stories that often come after a meal or sitting around a table.

Eventually it was time for cake! Gramps picked up a cake from Publix before Carl and I arrived yesterday and it looked delish!

DSC_0688.JPG

Lighting the candles

DSC_0692.JPG DSC_0694.JPG

“Happy (un)Birthday to me!”

DSC_0695.JPG

Blowin’ them out…

DSC_0696.JPG

Score! The funniest part of this picture, aside from the whole picture, is that when I blew out the candles I blew so hard that the almonds on the cake actually blew off and got all over the table!

DSC_0697.JPG

Cutting and serving up the cake

DSC_0701.JPG

Apparently I don’t know my own strength since I broke the handle of the plastic serving knife – haha! I love my Mom’s expression in this picture 🙂

DSC_0702.JPG DSC_0703.JPG DSC_0704.JPG

So strong!

DSC_0705.JPG

Serving up the cake means you get to lick your fingers too!

DSC_0707.JPG DSC_0709.JPG

Yum!

DSC_0713.JPG  

Before I dug into my slice I opened the beautiful cards from Mom and Gramps that made me cry, as usual.

DSC_0718.JPG

Thank you to my wonderful family for celebrating my (un)birthday today and for making me feel special. I’m so thankful for all of the wonderful memories that we share and the new ones that we create each time we are together. Love you!

What is your favorite part of spending time with family?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 3:34 pm

    What a great and busy day! No wonder you needed a nap.

  2. July 4, 2010 6:38 pm

    What a fun day! I actually have that Lincoln quote over our fireplace – words to live by!

Leave a Reply

