Skip to content

Happy 4th of July!

July 4, 2010

This morning Carl and I got up at the crack of dawn (literally) so he could go fishing with his brother and dad and so I could go for a run with Amy. Carl’s mom suggested that we go to Indian Riverside Park since it’s along the water and would have a nice breeze, especially since it was an overcast day. I’m sure glad that she did because it was simply beautiful out! Of course we were totally covered in sweat by the time we are done, it is July and we are in Florida, but it was really lovely. Before we left I had half of a banana stuffed with peanut butter.

Don’tcha love the napkin?

DSC_0850.JPG

Look who else came along on our run! This was the first time I’ve gone running with my garmin since the Gate River Run back in March, which I never blogged about! Perhaps I will have to do a quick recap of that and the Disney Princess Half Marathon in pictures, if nothing for my own memories.

I have to admit that it was really nice to have the garmin on the run today. I wasn’t obsessed with our pace (probably because I was running with someone and not by myself) and just really enjoyed running in a new place. I also brought back the interval runs so we ran for 2 minutes and walked for 1 minute, which was a nice change from running continuously and taking walk breaks when I need it. Something about “having to walk” vs. “knowing I’m going to walk soon” makes me feel a little bit like a failure, even though I know there is nothing wrong with walking during a run.

Anyways, we ran two miles in 28:36 which is a 14:08’/mi pace. It was a little slower than I would have liked to finish the run in, but it was nice to take it easy and enjoy running with Amy.

DSC_0851.JPG

Our views

DSC_0852.JPG DSC_0854.JPG DSC_0855.JPG  DSC_0863.JPG

Not bad for a self-timed shot, eh?

When we got back to the house we were both starving so Amy made us “applewiches”, which were so good and I’ll definitely be making more often. They are really simple and use a waffle as a base, peanut butter, thinly sliced apples topped with cinnamon. Yum! Amy typically makes this a sandwich, which you can eat on the go, but I wanted mine open today. So good!

DSC_0865.JPG

After we ate breakfast the girls spent the rest of the morning chatting and eventually the boys came back from their fishing excursion. We took showers, ate lunch and then I totally crashed since we’d gotten up so early. I think I slept for two hours, so I really needed the nap! Lunch was a BH ham sandwich with swiss cheese and guac from last night, baked lays and multigrain Tostitos on the side.

DSC_0866.JPG

When I woke up it was time to prepare the appetizers so I helped Carl’s mom make these amazingly delicious cucumber sandwiches.

DSC_0867.JPG

Easy Cucumber Sandwiches

Ingredients

  • A baguette
  • 1 container of whipped cream cheese
  • 1 packed of dry ranch mix
  • 1-2 cucumbers, peeled
  • hot sauce, to taste

Directions

  1. Clean, peel and thinly slice cucumbers.
  2. Cut baguette into thin slices, toast if desired.
  3. Pour ranch mix into whipped cream cheese and mix.
  4. Add hot sauce to ranch/cream cheese mix, if desired.
  5. Spread the ranch/cream cheese mix onto the baguette slice and top with a cucumber.
  6. Enjoy!

They were so good even the dogs wanted some

DSC_0873.JPG DSC_0874.JPG

While we were waiting for our tummies to make room for dinner we played a game called crokinole that Carl’s family has been playing for years.

The object of the game is to position shooting discs on the playing surface in such manner that they remain within the highest scoring circles by the end of the round. A crokinole shot is accomplished by firmly holding the end of your index or middle finger against the thumb and then flicking or snapping it against the disc in order to propel the disc across the playing surface. Each player seeks to make a “20″ (centre hole) score whenever possible. At the same time, each player – in turn – will attempt to make such scoring opportunities difficult for his opponent.

DSC_0879.JPG DSC_0889.JPG DSC_0899.JPG  DSC_0895.JPG

Grillin’ in the rain

DSC_0902.JPG DSC_0903.JPG  

For dinner we had turkey burgers, turkey brats and sun dried tomato chicken sausage with a rice/black eyed pea salad and artichoke dip that Amy made.

Eventually Amy left to go see some fireworks with her friends and the boys went fishing (again) so Carl, Irene and I played a little Wii bowling.

DSC_0910.JPG DSC_0911.JPG DSC_0912.JPG

I got second place! Too bad I’m not as good at real life bowling as I am in Wii bowling 🙂

How was your 4th of July? Did you do anything special? Did you see fireworks tonight?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 11:04 am

    Way to go on your run! It looks like it was beautiful. All your food and games from the day look so good and fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

