Skip to content

Salty and Sweet

July 5, 2010

After yesterday’s yummy breakfast I had waffles on the mind. Luckily Gramps always keeps a stock of them in the freezer so I was able to toast up a batch with peanut butter and topped with bananas, blueberries and a drizzle of honey.

DSC_0918.JPG

I made it through the first one and about 1/4 of the way through the second one before I decided to eat off the blueberries and call it breakfast.

Mom was off today (and will be off on Wednesday too) so it was nice to sit and chat with her and Gramps while we all ate breakfast. Gramps had an appointment with the chiropractor for a routine adjustment and when he got back we all decided to go to Olive Garden for lunch.

DSC_0919.JPG

We decided on the “Soup, Salad and Breadsticks” for lunch since we were all craving it. There is just something about their soup and breadsticks that just make my heart sing! I’m usually not the biggest fan of their salad but I decided to have a little plate today.

DSC_0920.JPG

Yummy breadsticks and alfredo dipping sauce. I had three bread sticks, which is actually pretty good for me!

DSC_0921.JPG

My favorite soup in the world – minestrone.

DSC_0922.JPG

Mom and Gramps enjoyed the chicken and gnocchi.

DSC_0923.JPG DSC_0924.JPG

When we got back from lunch Mom and I decided to take a nap and I have no doubt that Gramps fell asleep in his chair watching TV 🙂 Carl came home from visiting with his family around 5pm and we got started on dinner. We had some left over chicken and corn from dinner the other night and decided to incorporate it into some kind of casserole for dinner tonight. After browsing around allrecipes.com we found one called Chicken Crunch and figured we’d try it.

DSC_0925.JPG

We made a few substitutions and added a few veggies and it was really good, even though it’s not very pretty! I’m sure that you’ll be seeing this for lunch tomorrow, too. We paired it with a small green salad that included black olives, green beans, lettuce, spinach and tomatoes.

After dinner Mom and Carl had a little bit too much fun flossing and brushing their teeth (haha!) while I set up It’s Complicated.

DSC_0932.JPG

I think Mom’s face is hysterical in this picture! Love you Mom!

DSC_0926.JPG

I wasn’t sure what to expect from the movie but I really liked it. It was sad and happy at the same time and I am glad that it ended the way that it did.

DSC_0946.JPG DSC_0947.JPG

I was really feeling popcorn with the movie so I made some extra butter popcorn (What?! It’s all they had!) and threw in some cut-up Andes mints that we got from Olive Garden earlier today. It was so good that I had two bowls! Yum!

DSC_0952.JPG

Tomorrow is the first day here that we don’t really have any set plans and I’m so excited! I think a run may be in order (too much food the last few days!) and perhaps a late lunch/early dinner with Amy for some girl time.

Do you normally eat popcorn or some other treat while you watch movies? Honestly I don’t usually eat anything during a movie but every once in a while I get the craving for some popcorn. I remember when I was little Mom and I would pop popcorn at home and smuggle it into the movie theatre in big purses. Of course there were always Crunch bars consumed with popcorn too! I love the salty/sweet combo of popcorn and chocolate!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie permalink
    July 6, 2010 10:28 am

    OK, i’m one of those who HAS to eat something while watching a movie, it is indeed a great weakness. Although, prices at the theatre are astonomical so I refuse to buy popcorn or anything in the city but our small town has a theatre that plays only one movie on the weekends for $5. Jeff and I can get a popcorn and a can of soda for like $4 so we always indulge when we go. At home I also enjoy splitting a bag of THE BEST popcorn ever. It’s Orville Redenbocker’s Gourmet Natural Sea Salt popcorn. You are only eating like 110 calories when you split the bag and it has a lot of flavor, i don’t know how they do it. But, my all time favorite movie snacks are either twizzlers or swedish fish, i’ve cut back over the years.

    • July 7, 2010 9:37 pm

      What a great deal! I’ll totally have to look into that bag – yum!

      I totally thought of you when we watched Avatar tonight and Carl and Mom popped popcorn again 🙂

  2. July 24, 2010 8:36 pm

    Yum, Olive Garden salad and breadsticks! That is by far their best food. Matt’s not a big fan so we don’t go their often…which is probably a good thing.

    I like the “fun time” brushing and flossing teeth. Sometimes it seems like such a chore.

    I like to have a small snack (usually a york peppermint patti) during the previews. I find that if I’m still eating during the actual movie I get too distracted. Of course I’m talking about watching movies from home since I rarely go out anymore. I actually prefer movies at home now, because I can pause to go to the bathroom if I need and there’s no teenagers talking behind me. Ironic since 6 years ago I felt the complete opposite. I guess that’s part of aging.

Leave a Reply

