Skip to content

Sleep, eat, run

July 12, 2010

I slept until after 9am this morning and it was lovely! I rarely sleep that late so I must have been extra tired from the awesome weekend of partying and spending time with friends.

We seriously need to go to the grocery store so breakfast was a mix of leftover pancakes topped with a half of a banana, blueberries, slivered almonds and a drizzle of maple syrup with ‘loupe and coffee on the side.

DSC_0179.JPG

I had a meeting with a woman from Relay for Life since I’m interested in becoming the Vice Chair for the event in our area. We met at Caddyshack to talk and both ordered flatbreads, which sounded so good! I got the goat cheese, sauteed spinach and caramelized onions but only managed to eat half of it since it was giant! Carl appreciated the left overs and enjoyed them for lunch πŸ™‚

DSC_0180.JPG

Apparently I was pretty darn snacky today because a few hours later my tummy was grumbling so I toasted up a cinnamon raisin Ezekiel english muffin and topped it with coconut butter and sunflower butter – swoon! So.Good. Served with some BBQ Popchips. An unlikely combo, I know, but something about the sweetness of the coconut butter/sunflower butter and BBQ flavor was just so good. There may or may not have been a few more handfuls of popchips after these were gone…

DSC_0182.JPG

As I was midway through my snack the doorbell rang and I literally ran to the door. It was the FedEx guy! I greeted him with a gigantic smile because the iPhone 4 that we ordered nearly a month ago was finally here! Okay, so we ordered two of them and only one was delivered (they had to be ordered separately and therefore shipped separately) which was a bit of a bummer since the other phone hasn’t even shipped (from CHINA!) yet.

To be fair about who would get the coveted iPhone, Carl and I played rock,paper,scissors which is clearly the most adult way to decide. Guess who won?!

DSC_0186.JPG

Of course! However, because I have the best husband in the world he decided that it’s just not fair for him to take it out and play with it since mine is still in China (haha!).

DSC_0236.JPG

Since our cell service is still with Verizon we aren’t going to activate it until we have them both and I’m not even sure what all he can do with it unless there is service to it. Does it just act like an iPod touch if it’s not hooked up to a plan?

I spent the rest of the afternoon organizing the bins that we have scattered around our house that hold the bills and other paper mail that is important but I never get around to filing. I still have to file them but at least they are all in one place now. I’ve really struggled with organization in our townhouse since we moved here four years ago but I have a few ideas that I’m going to try out and hopefully they will keep me fro feeling anxious about the piles of crap that build up – I hate piles!

I also went through stacks of cards that we’ve kept over the years (birthdays, anniversaries, etc.), organized them and took pictures of them so I could toss them. I saw this on Caitlin’s blog as she was purging things for her big move to Charlotte and LOVED it! I never know what to do with cards that people so lovingly pick out, write in and send so this was the perfect solution! I took pictures of the group and then of the cards individually – inside and outside so I knew what they said and who they were from.

The cards from my birthday party on Saturday
DSC_0034.JPG

The card that Brian gave me

DSC_0048.JPG DSC_0049.JPG

I only have our wedding cards left, which is quite a stack!, and hope to finish those up tomorrow.

I really wanted to make it to the gym today but between the meeting that I had at lunch time, waiting for the arrival of the iPhone and organizing things, the gym was closed. I saw that Hilary is taking on the 21 day challenge that Jess started (and completed!) and was inspired to go for a short run tonight too. It was hot and I was very glad that I brought along my handheld with a water/G2 mix. I knew that I didn’t want to go very far so I focused on trying to go a bit faster than I usually run, repeating “it’s okay to be uncomfortable” (thanks for the mantra, Caitlin!) as I focused on taking smaller steps with a faster turnover.

Tonight’s Stats
Time –
Distance – 1.5 miles
Mile 1 – 11:05 min.
Mile .5 – 6.00 min.
Pace –
11:25’/mi

Which is pretty good for me!

When I got home Carl had been working on dinner, which was a variation of this Dirty Rice recipe. Lordy it was so good! I added some blue corn chips to my plate after I took this picture. I may or may not have stood at the stove dipping blue corn chips into the pot after I finished the dishes and was waiting for the left overs to cool down…

DSC_0231.JPG  

Yummy salad with spinach, mozzy cheese, walnuts, carrots and homemade honey mustard dressing.

DSC_0235.JPG

What did you have for dinner tonight?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 10:03 pm

    I am jeals of your iPhone!

    • July 12, 2010 10:05 pm

      It was a complete splurge since neither of us had smart phones before. I can’t wait until the other one comes in and we can actually start playing with using them!

  2. July 12, 2010 11:22 pm

    I love Pop Chips – but I can eat a whole bag so quickly so I have to be careful. πŸ™‚ Love that y’all played rock, paper, scissors – and what a sweet hubs to wait until your arrives, too!

    I had a salad with greens, avocado, tomato and bell pepper with a big bowl of black beans that I doctored up with cumin and jalapenos – and tortilla chips for dipping! Dessert was a bowl of cinnamon Puffins with almond milk. So tasty.

    Hope you have a great week!

  3. July 25, 2010 5:09 pm

    I agree that rock, paper, scissors is the best way to handle most situations!

    And how sweet for Carl to wait to open the phone!

    I remember you talking about the “take a picture” idea when we were in CT. I agree that stacks of cards drive me nutty!

Leave a Reply

