Skip to content

Spitting nails

July 13, 2010

Definition: spit nails –

to speak or behave in a way that shows you are very angry

I received an email from the Apple Store about a problem with the order of our second iPhone 4. Apparently the woman who took my original order (on June 18th…) had both phones coming from the same phone number, which you can’t do and why they make you place separate orders for multiple phones. Instead of being able to quickly fix the problem, I had to CANCEL the original order and PLACE ANOTHER ONE which will take another THREE WEEKS to get here. The thought of canceling the whole darn order totally crossed my mind, but then I realized that the only one who would be “hurt” in the situation would be me because I want the iPhone 4 and there are TONS of others who would buy the phone I’d be “sacrificing”.

Shoot, I think the thing I’m most irritated about is that I didn’t call Apple when it “felt” like something was wrong. Sounds odd, but I thought it was weird that the second phone that I ordered shipped before the first. So technically I guess I should be happy that either phone shipped at all…or maybe it just irritates me that there is one sitting on our table just asking to be activated and played with. After all of the SNAFUs that have happened with the ordering and the fact that we actually have to cancel our contract with Verizon (it’s up anyways) and sign on with AT&T we are definitely going to wait until we have both phones and switch at the same time. Heaven forbid that we end up canceling everything with Verizon before we’re ready and one of us is left without a cell phone at all!

I realize that even if I had called to figure out why the second phone wasn’t shipping I would only be three days ahead of where we are today (in terms of ordering) because I had no idea there was a problem with the original order. I realize that the phone will really only come in about a week later than the original date we thought we’d be getting them (on July 19th since the one we received yesterday was actually ahead of schedule). I realize in the grand scheme of things, this really doesn’t matter because there are a lot more important things going on in the world that I should be upset about. That doesn’t mean that I’m not allowed to pout, stomp my foot and curse a little.

Have you ever had to wait a little longer than you thought for something you were excited about? How did you feel about it?

Breakfast was made in a hurry because we had plans to go to the beach this morning, but after being on hold FOR-EV-ER with the Apple Store.

DSC_0237.JPG

Half of a cinnamon raisin Ezekiel english muffin with ‘loupe and blueberries. Okay so I was on hold and munching on breakfast so this is what you get to see. Not exciting, sorry!

Since it’s already 11am we just decided to stay in and do things around the house and go to the beach tomorrow morning. Ah well.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 2:07 pm

    How frustrating!

  2. July 17, 2010 11:49 am

    I’m not good at waiting for things that I really want or am excited to get. The worst is getting to the store and whatever I am there for isn’t in stock. Ugh…

  3. July 25, 2010 5:13 pm

    Yes, how irritating, but I’m glad you realize how minuscule the problem is in the grand scheme of life.

Leave a Reply

