Skip to content

In the footsteps of my husband

July 20, 2010

When Carl asked me last night if I wanted to go to the beach for a run this morning I told him “No way! I want to sleep in!” I’m not going to lie that I was a little irritated when he set the alarm on his phone for 5:30am anyway so he could get up to go. See, neither of us enjoy waking up to an alarm. Ever. The alarm could be set for 11am and we could have gone to bed at 9:00pm the night before and we’d still find some reason to hit the snooze button for at least 30 minutes. Seriously.

So imagine my surprise when I actually woke up before his alarm went off. Which is a good thing because in his haste to turn it off (as to not wake me up) he dropped it on the floor, jumped out of bed and made a whole heck of a lot of noise. Morning, honey!

Since I was already awake I figured I would get up and go too, since I had such a great run on the beach the last time we went. Unfortunately even though he planned to go to the beach, Carl didn’t get the bag or the water bottles ready so we had to do it this morning. Not a big deal by any means, it just meant that instead of getting to the beach by 6:00 we got there by 6:30 – oh the difference a half hour makes when the sun is blazing down on you!

Good morning, Sun!

IMG_0171.JPG

Before our run

IMG_0174.JPG

I know you don’t need to see another picture of us, especially with the bright sun in our eyes, but I wanted to point out the ginormous house behind us. Could you imagine living in a house that big?! WOW! I bet the kitchen is amazing in there!

IMG_0175.JPG

We started out together but Carl quickly took off ahead of me. I usually subscribe to the “(very) slow and steady” mantra and today even decided to throw back in intervals of running for two minutes and then walking for a minute. This worked really well for me while I was training for the Nike Women’s Marathon last summer and figured I would give it a go again. Yea, not so great this time around and I’m thinking that I was just trying to run way too fast while I was running – clearly trying to make up for the time that I would spend walking and wanting to die because I was so out of breath. Mind you when I say fast, I’m talking anything close to an 11 minute mile, because that is fast for me.

Needless to say I ended up getting incredibly discouraged and using some horrible self-talk on this run. It was bad. I mean who in their right mind goes to the beach and doesn’t enjoy the beautiful surroundings, the sound of the waves crashing on the shore, the beautiful birds and the ginormous homes that line the beach.

Carl, on the other hand, likes to run fast and then walk for a while. In fact, his sole mission when we go to the beach isn’t to run a certain distance – it’s to run until he’s tired and then look for shark’s teeth or sea glass. He wants to enjoy the experience, not freak out and cry about being a slow loser.

Finally I’d had enough of my awful thoughts. I pushed them aside, found my favorite running song Bottom’s Up by Keke Palmer (which has a great beat and great words to get you going!) and decided to just run. After a few moments I looked down into the sand and noticed these shoe prints there. I decided that I was going to follow them, putting my foot right in those footsteps and just focus on moving forward, listening to Keke Palmer sing her little heart out.

Eventually I got closer to Carl, who had stopped quite some time before to actually enjoy the morning at the beach, and I was so happy to see him. I continued my “running in the shoe prints” for a little while longer before I realized that the shoe prints I was following in were his. It makes me tear up a little just to think about it again.

This totally reminded me of the poem Footprints in the Sand by Mary Stevenson

One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord. Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.

In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand. Sometimes there were two sets of footprints, other times there was one only.

This bothered me because I noticed that during the low periods of my life, when I was suffering from anguish, sorrow or defeat, I could see only one set of footprints, so I said to the Lord,

“You promised me Lord,
that if I followed you, you would walk with me always. But I have noticed that during the most trying periods of my life there has only been one set of footprints in the sand.Why, when I needed you most, have you not been there for me?”

The Lord replied, “The years when you have seen only one set of footprints, my child, is when I carried you.”

There are actually two other versions of this poem if you want to check them out but they are all pretty similar. Perhaps it’s silly to make the comparison between my experience and the poem, but I don’t care 🙂 I truly believe that everyone needs someone to help them through the tough times to encourage them and keep them going.

After I caught up to Carl he greeted me with a big, sweaty hug and encouraging words. Then he said the thing I really wanted to hear, “How about we get some coffee and share a grit bowl?”. HAHAHA!

IMG_0177.JPG

We discovered this great little diner on our way home from the beach the other day, called Cafe Genovese. We’d passed it many times before but since it’s only open from 7-2pm during the week and just recently started opening on Saturday from 7-noon, we hadn’t had a chance to try it. Oh lord am I glad we did! Last time I got the grit bowl and loved it!

Today Carl and I decided to share it because it’s giant and probably not all that great for you. I didn’t care. It’s seriously worth every.single.calorie. When we placed our order we told the waitress/owner/cook (it’s a super small place!) that we were going to share it and she brought us out two separate bowls – score! Inside the bowl – grits, onions, peppers, cheese, bacon and an egg. I decided to cut the egg up and mix everything around (and add a little ketchup, salt and pepper).

IMG_0178.JPG

We also shared a bagel with cream cheese.

IMG_0179.JPG

Clearly I hated it. Lord if it would have been appropriate to lick the bowl in public I would have!

IMG_0180.JPG

My amazing husband, hero of the day!

IMG_0181.JPG

Who is in your life that always has the right words to encourage, comfort or support you? I’m very blessed to have Carl in my life to fill this role! My family and friends are pretty awesome too 🙂

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 1:49 pm

    Sounds like you have a great guy on your hands, there! Wonderful!

  2. July 20, 2010 2:21 pm

    Awww – I love this post. And I love the Footprints poem – holds a special place for me. I think your relationship with Carl is so awesome. I have the same thing with Billy – we always say, “you be you..and I’ll be me” – sounds simple but I think that’s how we can love each other and respect each other best. We support each other and encourage each other but always remembering that while we are a team, we are individuals with differing needs. I have to say, I’ve loved having him join me on my morning runs lately.

    Can’t wait to meet at HLS – so soon!!

  3. Sally permalink
    July 20, 2010 3:26 pm

    I also think this post is ADORABLE – you two are so cute!

    And don’t worry about a “bad run” – it happens to us all. You did it, you’re glad you went and there will be better days…days when you enjoy the effort and look for sea glass afterward.

    All the best and excited to meet you in a month!

  4. lisa permalink
    July 20, 2010 11:46 pm

    tears, just reading this. love you guys so much!!! danielle plus one 4 ever! 🙂

  5. July 21, 2010 7:46 am

    Great post!
    (new to your blog…love it!)
    My hubs and my run coach are the best…neither of them sugar coat things but are also quick to point out how far I have come and the work I am putting in to try to make my wee legs move faster…

  6. July 21, 2010 1:36 pm

    Love the post! My hubby is super fabulous too…I feel so lucky to have him! Also just wanted to tell you (since I see that you are a teacher) that I am making a big career change and becoming a teacher!! It is super exciting and makes me nervous at the same time!! 🙂

  7. July 25, 2010 6:03 pm

    Ahhhhhh…..

    I always thought “Footprints” was an unknown author…

    I have to check out “Bottom’s Up” since I was just thinking today I need to make a new running playlist…for whenever I start running again (I think it may be next week…)

Leave a Reply

