Skip to content

I spy with my little Eye-Fi

August 8, 2010

I know that I’ve been gone for a few days and I have a lot of fun things to update the blog with but I was too excited not to share my newest toy – the Eye-Fi card! Ever since we bought the Nikon in November I’ve been trying to find the easiest way to download pictures from the camera and upload them to the computer. I guess I could have simply connected the camera to the computer with the cord that it came with but I didn’t like doing it that way.

For Christmas I asked for a card reader so that I could take the SD card out of the camera, but I still wasn’t excited to have something attached to the computer. Enter the Eye-Fi card. I first read about it on Kath’s blog but was a little freaked out about the whole wireless thing and wondered where my pictures actually went and who would have access to them, blah, blah, blah. Then I got real. So many things, including our internet, is wireless and if someone out there wants to steal pictures of my food from the air then not only are they a little weird but they can have them (Not really, but you all know what I mean.)

While we were visiting my mom this past week I realized that I forgot to bring home my card reader so I didn’t have any way to get the pictures off of my camera. I told mom about the Eye-Fi card and she thought it was pretty cool. I went to look it up to show it to her and imagine my surprise when it was on sale at Best Buy for only $39.99 (it usually retails for $49.99). Sweet! Mom was so excited that she even offered to buy it for me – double sweet! (Thanks again, Mom!) Some family things kept Carl and I from heading down to Best Buy until Friday and then we were stalled until we got back home since my mom doesn’t have wireless internet, which is necessary to transfer the pictures from the card in the camera to the software that is installed on your computer. The instillation is incredibly simple and took less than five minutes from start to finish, leaving me with this picture of myself.

Say hello to no make-up and crazy brows that are getting waxed on Wednesday (thank goodness!)

DSC_0005

I can’t wait to play around with the camera and watch the images fly off my camera and onto my computer without being connected with a cord!

What is your favorite piece of technology? I’m loving my new iPhone and I can’t wait to play around more with the Eye-Fi card!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Brandy permalink
    August 8, 2010 7:37 pm

    I love my eye fi! Can’t imagine life without it!

    • August 9, 2010 10:20 pm

      It is AWESOME! I was on the computer a while ago and it started uploading pictures all by itself. It was like magic haha!

  2. August 9, 2010 10:36 am

    Like the font on the new header.

    You’re too judgmental of yourself! It’s a natural beauty photo and had you not mentioned the no make-up and crazy eyebrows I would have never looked twice at them…I think it’s a great photo.

    • August 9, 2010 10:22 pm

      Thanks! I played around with it the other night and uploaded a new picture. It’s from the Great Highway in SF. I so wish we were going there again this October!

      Thank you 🙂

  3. August 10, 2010 2:32 am

    Danielle,

    Beautiful blog posting. Enjoy the card. Ping us any time with questions 🙂

    ciao —

    Ziv.
    Eye-Fi co-founder.

    • August 10, 2010 8:34 am

      Thank you so much! I’m LOVING the Eye-Fi card! Feel free to keep me in mind if you ever need people to test out new products 🙂

  4. Jennie permalink
    August 11, 2010 10:27 am

    I never thought these words would come out of my mouth but i’m loving the auto steer/GPS on our tractor. I can go in a straight line while i’m in the grain cart which allows me to follow perfectly alonside the combine to allow it to dump its grain on me. Our farm equipment is more technologically advanced than anything at our house. It’s funny and sad. HaHa.

    By the way missy, you are a natural beauty.

Leave a Reply

