Skip to content

Last week of summer break

August 9, 2010

Morning all! Today marks the start of the last official week of summer break. I can’t believe it was just a few short months ago that I was talking about all of my fun summer plans and here we are about ready to go back to work. I have to admit that while I enjoy the break (and it is MUCH needed!) I do really look forward to the school year. What can I say, I love structure and sometimes the summertime is a bit too unstructured 🙂

Breakfast this morning was inspired by Angela’s Pumpkin Pie Vegan Overnight Oats. When I read about them last night I knew exactly what I wanted to put in the overnight oats that I already had sitting in the fridge for me.

DSC_0009

I combined 1/2 c. quick cooking oats and 3/4 c. plain soymilk in a bowl and let it sit overnight in the fridge. This morning I added about 1/3 c. canned pumpkin, pumpkin pie spice, maple syrup and gave it a stir and put it back in the fridge for about an hour. I topped it with sliced almonds, raisins, a little more pumpkin pie spice and s drizzle of maple syrup. Yum! I think this would be even better if the pumpkin sat in there overnight.

Today I have plans to work on stuff for school so I will probably be spending most of the day here:

DSC_0011

Carl, on the other hand, decided to spend the majority of his day here:

IMG_0099.JPG

So jealous!

What are you doing today?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 10:44 am

    Good questions. I was going to go into work today but hoped to be there earlier than now, since new teacher training for the entire county takes place at my school. Sounds like too much commotion and I may just wait til tomorrow now. So, the question is now, what am I doing today? I guess I’ll start with a little picking up and organizing…

  2. August 9, 2010 4:02 pm

    Oh that looks like fun to be outside on the lake! I’m working indoors on my laptop as well. It’s so hot outside I’m dreading the errands I’m about to run…but Billy is coming with me so that makes it more fun. I need new running shorts. 🙂

    • August 9, 2010 10:25 pm

      Did you get your shorts today? I love new running clothes!

Leave a Reply

