Skip to content

Going back

August 10, 2010

This morning I woke up a little too late to get in a 4 mile run before the sun was up. I was feeling draggy from an awesome five miler that I had on Sunday so I told myself that I could switch the four mile run today with the two mile run that I have later this week. Imagine my surprise when I hit the 1 mile mark and decided I felt good and would keep going! Then I hit 1.5 still feeling great so I pushed on until I hit nearly 2 miles and the sidewalk ended – haha – so I turned around. I made up for the .3 miles that I was missing and finished out my four mile run. Sweet! I have two half marathons this fall and perhaps I’ll add a full marathon in the spring?!

While I was on my run Sunday evening (the five miler) I decided to go back to the 2:00 run/1:00 walk. I really do want to be able to run without stopping but with the heat and the increasing distances I just don’t see it happening. Several times that I’ve gone out on runs without adding in the planned walking breaks I felt defeated and frustrated at how much I thought I was walking. By adding the walk breaks back into my run I’m giving myself permission to slow down and I feel so much better while I’m running. Good-bye negative self talk! Hello encouraging thoughts!

I will admit that I’m not super excited to see my mile times creeping back up into the 13 min/mi. range but if I can be honest here we are only talking about an extra 30 seconds to a minute added to my overall mile time. I’ll gladly take that if I’m smiling when I come home from a run and feel great!

Breakfast was quick and yummy – a bagel with whipped cream cheese, almonds and coffee.

DSC_0028

Congrats to Kath who passed her RD exam yesterday!

Today I decided to go into work and get some things done in my classroom. I’m sure glad that I did because a field mouse had a field day with some of my supplies! I had to clean out and wipe down lots of stuff in my back room that took up at least an hour of time that I hadn’t planned on using back there. Then I moved over to one of my storage shelves and started cleaning things out of it. I put supplies into bins, labeled my drawers and cabinets and things are starting to get in their place.

Carl was sweet and packed lunch for me (he went in to his school today too). Nothing screams “school lunch” quite like pb&j with a juice box 🙂 Yum!

DSC_0032

I’m going in again tomorrow and hopefully I’ll have my classroom all set up and ready to go before pre-planning next week. I realize that pre-planning is the time to go in and organize things but there are always meetings (team meetings, faculty meetings, department meetings) and the obligatory (and super fun!) catching up with everyone and going out to lunch. I don’t want setting up my classroom to get in the way of all the good stuff 😉

What is your favorite part of your job?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2010 11:27 am

    Good job with the run this morning! So awesome. I think it’s great that you’ve figured out what works for you mentally and physically when it comes to running/intervals, etc. I’m excited to talk to you more about running this weekend and your upcoming half marathons.

    My favorite part of my job now is working from home because I don’t have to put on makeup or nice clothes everyday. Ponytails and comfy clothes. But I bet you get to do that as a teacher, too! (I taught Kindergarten for 1 year after graduating college…)

  2. August 11, 2010 7:31 pm

    Way to go on your run. I agree, too many meetings and too much catching up to do to not be set up in your room. Plus, you’re out of town this weekend! Can’t wait to read about the summit.

Leave a Reply

