Skip to content

Hello Chicago!

August 18, 2010

Even though my mind was racing with what felt like a million things I was able to get a very restful night’s sleep. Of course I hit the snooze button this morning (a few times, actually) but I was still able to make it out of the house on time. Sweet!

Bradley wasn’t too happy that I was leaving. Look at his sad little face!

DSC_0048.JPG

I was ready to go right on time and made it to the airport very easily and didn’t get stuck in any traffic.

DSC_0049.JPG

I also got to the airport super early but couldn’t connect to the internet, which seems to be a bit of a theme for this weekend.

IMG_0109.JPG  

While I was there I texted one of my roommates for this weekend, who was flying out of the same airport and we were able to meet and chat for a little while.

I flew into Midway after a short layover in Atlanta and while I was on the plane I munched on Biscoff (which totally made me think of Kath!) and finished reading Operation Beautiful. If you haven’t read this book yet you truly are missing out!

IMG_0112.JPG

As we were descending into Chicago I saw these clouds and totally thought they looked like popcorn.

DSC_0052.JPG

Check out the “land grids”. I think it’s so neat how land is divided into quadrants like this.

DSC_0054.JPG

As we got closer it was really need to actually see the “shade” that was created by the clouds. I thought I had a picture of this but sadly none of them came out.

On the way to the hotel I was very thankful for my iPhone because I was able to pull up information for the train stops, the hotel and even use the compass to make sure that I was walking in the right direction. I was really proud of myself for navigating the public transportation that Chicago had because I’ve never done that by myself! I was thankful that the hotel was very close to the train stop because it was HOT as blazes – although there was a really nice breeze.

Hello Chicago!

IMG_0115.JPG

The hotel is quite old and as Kath described, it have the “dorm” feel to it. I was excited to see that our room was set up like a suite with the two beds in different rooms separated by a hallway with the small, but adequate, bathroom.

First room

DSC_0057.JPG

Hallway/bathroom

DSC_0058.JPG

DSC_0056.JPG

Second room

DSC_0060.JPG DSC_0062.JPG

Our view

DSC_0061.JPG

Next up – meeting more roomies and the cocktail party!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 9:45 am

    Yay! It’s so fun for me to read your experience! Hope things are going well with teacher/classroom planning this week. 🙂

  2. August 19, 2010 9:59 am

    I didn’t realize that you all had a little suite! How fancy! 😉

    Can’t wait to read the rest of your recap.

    • August 21, 2010 10:02 pm

      I know! I was pretty surprised when I saw the room and it was really roomy!

  3. August 19, 2010 10:26 am

    Love the photos from the plane. The “land grids” are definitely a sign of the midwest. When flying into MN/ND those squares usually are acres and acres of different farm crops!

    Cute hotel!

  4. August 19, 2010 8:21 pm

    Yeah, can’t wait to read more 🙂

  5. Sally permalink
    August 20, 2010 10:50 am

    Howdy lady! Just checking in to say good luck with the upcoming school term.

Leave a Reply

