Skip to content

Chicago at night: clothes, cocktails and cabs

August 21, 2010

Once Emily and I found our room and dropped off our stuff we headed to another floor to check in to the conference and pick up our swag bags.

It was a pretty surreal experience to meet the organizers since I’ve been reading most of their blogs since I started blogging. In fact, Caitlin and Meghann were two of the first healthy living blogs that I started reading. I have to admit that as much as I was looking forward to it, It was a little weird because as a reader you get this false sense of comfort behind your computer screen as you follow along with someone’s “blog life” and meeting them in person is a little different.

For one, you get to hear their actual voice instead of the imaginary one that you think they have. You know that you do it too! Not to mention how weird it must be for them to go somewhere and have nearly 200 people wanting to meet them – talk about the pressure! I think the ladies handled it very well and even though some of them were more shy than I imagined they would be, they were all very friendly and I looked forward to talking to them a little more at the cocktail party later that night.

When we got back to our room Emily and I dug into our swag bags. There was a TON of stuff in the bag! I was really glad that I heeded Meghann’s warning that there would be and brought my bigger bag instead of cramming my stuff into the smaller one in the set.

DSC_0064.JPG

Look at it all!

DSC_0065.JPG

Sweet goodness!

A little while later Dorry arrived back from lunch with some people who decided to try out a raw restaurant called raw, which everyone raved about. We chatted for a bit before getting ready for the cocktail party that was held at LaSalle Power Co. Sally arrived from Canada about 20 minutes before we were set to leave, bless her heart! I was impressed that she was able to pull her outfit together and get ready to go so quickly and look refreshed and beautiful, as all of the roomies did 🙂

We met some other ladies in the lobby of the hotel and debated between taking a cab, taking the L or walking. It was pretty hot out still and we decided on the cab, which luckily pulled up very quickly after we walked outside. I’m always amazed at how taxis always seem to be right there when you need them, well at Chicago on this trip at least!

Emily, Jessie, Dorry, Erin, me and Sally

DSC_0067.JPG  

I don’t know if many of you know this about me, but I’m actually really shy around people when I first meet them. I realize that I’d been reading the blogs written by quite a few of people at the party and had been emailing with the roomies for quite some time, but it was totally different than hanging out with the crew back home. Needless to say I was actually really nervous about meeting people and spent most of the evening with the few people that I felt the most comfortable with. Lame, I know but I just couldn’t do it!

Part of me wonders if the cocktail party would have been more enjoyable on Saturday night instead, once we all had spent a little bit more time with each other so it wouldn’t have been quite as awkward to go up to a “stranger” and introduce yourself as a stalker reader, ya know? I actually talked to a few people who also agreed with this so perhaps I wasn’t the only one who felt weird about it being the opening activity, even though a “meet and greet party” may be the best way to meet people – who knows!

DSC_0072.JPG

DSC_0073.JPG

While we were at the party I was finally able to meet Andrea! We’ve known each other for several years and while I saw her very briefly during the Disney Princess half marathon last March, it was the first time we’d been able to actually have a conversation longer than a sweaty hug and a quick hello.

40538_1491182193379_1048710301_1457684_3874518_n

I was also able to meet Sara, one of the sweetest ladies, who is also going to be running in the Wine & Dine half marathon in October.

Eventually the roomies and I left the party to get some dinner. We walked about a block or so before we found XOCO that Kath posted about on Thursday. We had quite a wait but the food was really good!

We shared some chips and guac before the meal
DSC_0075.JPG

I had the vegetables and black bean caldo (soup) with woodland mushrooms, zucchini, potao-masa dumplings, black bean broth, spinach, avocado and serrano chili. It was pretty good but I totally had food envy over Dorry’s salad and Sally’s sandwich.

DSC_0076.JPG

After dinner we hailed a cab since it was sprinkling a bit and we would have been completely soaked if we had walked back to the hotel. I think we chatted a bit before falling right into bed and sleeping like a log for the night.

Next up: the Summit lectures and yoga

15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 5:45 pm

    I love reading this review! I sort of wish we could go back. 🙂 Hope you are having a great weekend! 🙂

  2. August 21, 2010 5:46 pm

    Review? I meant recap. 🙂

    • August 21, 2010 9:57 pm

      I’m so far behind on my google reader (and blogging in general, clearly!) that I still haven’t read yours! I can’t wait to see what you have to say about your experience 🙂

      Thank you so much for your sweet text earlier this week!

  3. August 21, 2010 8:03 pm

    That is so funny you say you are shy! You come across so outgoing. I was so excited to see you because you are one of the few that I knew who they were instantly! 🙂

    • August 21, 2010 9:53 pm

      It’s funny that you say that because there is something about you that totally put me at ease! I was so thankful that you were there at lunch on Saturday because I was feeling really out of place most of the morning. After talking with my husband on the phone after the first session and then having lunch with you I felt so much better 🙂

    • Emily permalink
      August 22, 2010 3:18 pm

      i agree with erin i thought on friday you were awesome especially at the cocktail party….i never would have thought you were shy! hope school is going well for you, good luck this week 🙂

  4. August 21, 2010 8:13 pm

    I love that the first time we actually got to talk for more than a few seconds was at a Healthy Living Summit! It was great to finally meet you after all of these years!

    • August 21, 2010 9:51 pm

      I know! It was really wonderful to finally meet you! I’m glad that we were able to hang out on Sunday night too 🙂

  5. August 21, 2010 8:37 pm

    Loved reading your recap! It totally makes me want to go back to Chicago, my trip was way too short!

    • August 21, 2010 9:50 pm

      It was a lot of fun! I’m glad that I was able to meet you there 🙂

  6. August 22, 2010 1:15 am

    I really believe this was the best vacation I’ve had. So happy to have met you too!

    • August 22, 2010 1:28 pm

      I know! I’m so glad that you and Shannon needed a place to stay Sunday night 🙂 Thanks for all of your advice with Titter too!

  7. August 22, 2010 12:46 pm

    Love your dress!

    • August 22, 2010 1:29 pm

      Thanks! I bought it at Ann Taylor and it is seriously AMAZING!

  8. August 22, 2010 6:20 pm

    Great Dress!

Leave a Reply

