Skip to content

Chicago from a conference room: the sessions

August 22, 2010

I was so exhausted from all of the excitement of arriving in Chicago that I slept like a rock and I don’t think I moved the entire night! The roomies and I woke up around 6:30 and Sally and Emily went to the gym while Dorry and I stayed back and got ready for the day.

Dressed in our comfy yoga pants Dorry and I headed down to the main auditorium and breakfast.
DSC_0078.JPG

Lines for the food were a little out of control but that’s what happens when you have 200+ people at a conference and nearly all of them want some oatmeal with almond butter šŸ™‚

DSC_0079.JPG

DSC_0080.JPG DSC_0081.JPG

My plate with seriously the best oatmeal ever. I don’t know what the hotel put in there but it was SO GOOD!

DSC_0082.JPG

After breakfast the keynote/opening speech was given. It was really hard to concentrate/focus on the woman’s speech (I can’t even remember her name!) because there were some people in the back of the room going around to the sponsor tables and chatting it up. Not so great and I really felt bad for the speaker because it must have been incredibly frustrating to be talking over the people back there.

A little bit before the keynote ended I was feeling so overwhelmed and completely out of place so I went to give Carl, my personal cheerleader, a call. Please don’t get me wrong, everyone was incredibly sweet and friendly, but I was totally caught up in the self-comparison trap and needed someone to talk some sense into me. Just like he got me through the end of my marathon, he was able to give me a wonderful pep-talk and get me excited about being in Chicago again.

I barely made it in time to see the beginning of the first session, Fueling for Fitness: Perform Well and Recovery Quickly from your Workouts. I’ll spare you the recap of my notes because Dorry did such a great job. Go visit her, she’s awesome!

DSC_0083.JPG

After the session I was so tired so I decided to head back up to the room for a quick nap. Imagine my surprise when I walked in to see Sally and Emily laying in bed watching TV! Apparently we were all exhausted from our travels and the excitement of our adventures the night before.

After my nap I went to Stepping up your blog photography and enjoyed the tips that we learned in the discussion portion of the talk.

Lunch was AMAZING! Thank you Arnold!

DSC_0089.JPG

After lunch I attended my favorite session on time management. This school year is shaping up to be a really busy one and I’m trying to work on being balanced and finding a planner that really works for me.

DSC_0090.JPG

I realize that I can have a gazillion things in my google calendar and written in my planner and still not do them, but this session helped me organize things and prioritize. I’m very methodical (read: it takes me forever to do things!) and I have to learn that I need to give myself enough time to get the things done that I want to get accomplished or I’ll be rushed and it won’t be good. I’d much rather do a few things really well than do lots of things poorly. Fingers crossed that I can organize myself to do all of the things that I want to do this year!

DSC_0091.JPG

This really struck a cord with me. While I write for myself I do feel pressure to blog if I’ve been away for a few days. Blogging is also something that is on my to-do list but obviously there are only so many hours in a day and I go without posting if I’m feeling like I don’t have time for it.

DSC_0093.JPG

The afternoon snack was sponsored by Athenos and was darn good! I *heart* feta and watermelon!

DSC_0096.JPG

I don’t remember the session on the Self-Comparison trap, too bad because I really could use some of those tips!, but the closing remarks were simply amazing. Sweet Tater shared her story and it was incredibly moving. I always enjoy hearing about the journey that people have made to get where they are and where they want to go. If I learned anything from the sessions it was that EVERYONE has a story.

Next up: Yoga!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 5:32 pm

    Bad Blogger? Oh, the pressure! I say do what satisfies YOU.

    I love using Google Calendar and sync it with my iPhone too. I have different “calendars” within one so everything is color-coded – like school, work-out, Kiya, meals and other (but I can only sync one with my iPhone) I just mark out big chunks of time each day for “work” and then keep work meetings separate on my work Outlook calendar. ….and then for actual lesson planning, and I think most would agree with me here, old-school with paper and pencil in a planner.

Leave a Reply

