Skip to content

A new attitude

August 23, 2010

This school year my goal is to be prepared and find balance. I’m not sure that I’ve shared that this year I was chosen to be the 7th grade team leader, which I knew was going to happen but it wasn’t supposed to happen until next year. While I’m excited to be in this leadership position I’m not excited that our previous team leader isn’t even on our team any more. He’s on the 6th grade team and his presence is missed tremendously. It’s difficult trying to fill his shoes (which are literally and figuratively big) because he has such an amazingly calming presence. Think of him as “Sully” from Monsters, Inc. 🙂 I am not.

I can’t think of a character that accurately describes me but let’s just say that I’m meticulous and don’t like to be rushed – which is why I went in to school yesterday (yes on a Sunday) for two hours to get all of the lockers and desks assigned (with sticky notes), locks and lunch numbers passed out on said desks, and my desk all set up with the new supplies that I got from Target on Saturday. It only took me two hours yesterday and for the first time in seven years I wasn’t a nervous wreck rushing around my classroom trying to be prepared for the students and their 1000s of questions they always have on the first day.

I’m starting this year off with a positive attitude, knowing that there are lots of things that I can’t control but I can control how I feel and react to the situations that I’m placed in and the people I choose to surround myself with.

DSC_0300

And guess what? It was a really great day! Even better, thanks to our block schedule I was able to leave a little before 4pm (which is a miracle since I’ve been staying until 7:30pm for the last week) and make it home and into my jeans before 4:15. Sweet Jesus! It’s a miracle!

The husband was looking pretty cute on his first day of school too!

DSC_0301

I’m off to spend the rest of the evening with Carl so I will leave you with pictures of my classroom. Try not to be jealous of my new pink desk accessories that I got from Target for $3 😉

DSC_0302

DSC_0315

DSC_0305

DSC_0306

DSC_0307

DSC_0311

DSC_0314

DSC_0317

What is your favorite “back to school” memory? I used to LOVE going school supply shopping with gramps at Sam’s. I’d get a ridiculously large pack of new, fun colored pens and pencils and could hardly contain my excitement as I tore into it. I was destined to be a teacher 😉

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2010 9:20 pm

    Def back to school clothes shopping with my mom. We’d always spend an entire day rounding up everything I needed and lots of stuff I wanted. It was a lot of fun. I remember when I was in 11th grade I was in love with the movie Clueless so I forced my mom to buy me tons of knee socks and plaid separates. ha!

  2. August 23, 2010 9:49 pm

    You looked great for the first day! Both of you did. 🙂

    My fave thing to do was to get supplies and get my bag all ready. I love to pack everything up and get ready for the day. So fun!

  3. August 23, 2010 10:13 pm

    congrats on an awesome first day! your classroom looks great. I loved getting new school supplies – the best was the year (maybe 8th grade??) that my mom bought me a satchel to replace my backpack. I thought I was so cool. 🙂

  4. August 23, 2010 10:21 pm

    Congratulations on the new team leader position! You are going to do a fantastic job!!!

    My best “back to school” memory? I remember finally being able to afford going to stores like The Limited and buying school clothes when I was in high school.

  5. August 24, 2010 9:31 am

    congrats on being the team leader. its always so exciting but i totally understand being worried. being a leader is so fun because you get to make some big decisions but it also means you are to blame. i am sure you will do great and have your own style from “sully” i wish i could give you a cartoon character but so much of that is how you move and talk! love the purple desk accessories! i was always a big fun of supplies shopping something so refreshing about it, still love going to staples.

  6. August 24, 2010 10:49 am

    Loved getting new clothes before school started and all the new school supplies. Then you always talked to all your friends about what they got too! Fun!

    Love your dress! And it is so neat seeing your classroom!

  7. August 24, 2010 11:00 am

    Great post. I think you and I have a lot in common when it comes to work and our attitude. We don’t start with the kids until next tuesday, but I think I am almost ready. there’s possibility of some big changes before then and I am hoping to have a good attitude in regards to it!

    Love your pink stuff… Iam still trying to find something that works for me and my lack of desk space. 🙂

  8. August 24, 2010 5:45 pm

    Attitude is everything, isn’t it? I’m having a great year so far and I know my attitude is soooooo much of it.

  9. August 24, 2010 8:13 pm

    Home before 5pm….nice! I loved my first day of school outfits and eating lunch with friends. Oh what memories. 🙂

Leave a Reply

