Skip to content

Chicago by foot: a run, a walk and a giant slice of pizza

August 24, 2010

Saturday night before we all went to sleep we decided to get up early and go for a run, separately, before it got too hot. The group run was scheduled for 8am and we all agreed that it was just too hot, plus none of us wanted the pressure of “running with the group” to get to us. Sally had a 10 miler planned (you go girl!) so she left first, followed by Emily (not sure how far she went), then Dorry and I was the last to leave.

Fresh faced and ready to go!

IMG_0120.JPG

4.3 miles later – super sweaty and red in the face. While I was on my run I passed Dorry on her way back to the room. I went by the Navy pier and was glad that I was able to see parts of the city that I hadn’t seen before. I was super impressed with the amazing paths, lined with water fountains!, that the city had for runners and bikers. I wish they had something like that here!

IMG_0122.JPG

After we showered up Dorry and I headed down to the farewell breakfast sponsored by Thomas bagel thins. They had a “create your own cream cheese” bar which was pretty darn tasty.

DSC_0114.JPG

I chose light cream cheese and “mixed in” red onions, jalapenos, sun-dried tomatoes and carrots.

DSC_0117.JPG

The chef mixed everything up and ta-da! my creation was complete.

DSC_0120.JPG

The rest of my plate

DSC_0118.JPG

After breakfast we said good-bye to Emily and Sally, Dorry and I went off for a little shopping and exploring.

DSC_0128.JPG

DSC_0122.JPG

DSC_0134.JPG

DSC_0142.JPG

DSC_0144.JPG

DSC_0154.JPG

Eventually Sally left us to meet up with some friends who were also in town and Dorry and I set off on our own.

Remember that movie Adventures in Babysitting? Check it out!

DSC_0156.JPG

DSC_0157.JPG

While we were walking we saw an event going on in the park about science and nutrition.

DSC_0159.JPG

DSC_0161.JPG

DSC_0164.JPG

DSC_0165.JPG

DSC_0167.JPG

DSC_0170.JPG

DSC_0175.JPG

DSC_0176.JPG

DSC_0178.JPG

Dorry and I heard someone mention the Air and Water show that was going on that weekend and after trying to find it, and giving up, we decided to try and find “the bean” instead.

DSC_0182.JPG

DSC_0184.JPG

DSC_0185.JPG

DSC_0186.JPG

DSC_0191.JPG

DSC_0193.JPG

DSC_0196.JPG

Cool, huh?

While we were there we bumped into Anne, Heather and decided to join them for lunch at Argo Tea with Megan and Katy.

After lunch Dorry and I headed back to the hotel so she could pack up and I met up with my new roomies for the night, Nicci and Shannon. Loved these girls! We were all totally on the same wavelength and even though we were in a new city and had plenty of things to explore we were simply exhausted! We spent the rest of the afternoon looking like this

DSC_0208

DSC_0211

Until we met up with Andrea and Sara for dinner at Giordiano’s

DSC_0215

Shannon, Nicci, Sara and Andrea

DSC_0214

The menu!

DSC_0216

LOVE IT!

DSC_0224

Appetizers

DSC_0226

DSC_0227

PIZZA! Oh lordy it was good! So good that I managed to eat two slices! I was busting at the seams after dinner but it was so worth it!

DSC_0230

I fell into bed and slept like a log. It was glorious! I woke up pretty early the following morning and headed to Panera to work on the blog (which is when I switched over to my own domain name) and played on twitter for a little while before heading back to the hotel to pack up my stuff. I decided to head to Midway a little early because Shannon was meeting a friend there. Ride the L with a friend – yes please! I’m so glad that Shannon was there because I may have gotten stuck in the turnstyle trying to get my luggage and myself through at the same time. Only I would do something like that.

IMG_0136.JPG

After a quick call from mom and a quick train ride to the airport I was on my way back to my loves and the real world.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2010 10:13 pm

    Haha, So many hrs spent relaxing, but it was fun. I have visit the bean next time I go to Chicago. I’m so glad to have met you & been your roomie for the day!

  2. August 24, 2010 10:34 pm

    Those are some wonderful pictures! Thanks for sharing!

  3. August 24, 2010 10:35 pm

    I’ve loved reading your recaps! We had a great weekend, huh? Hope your week continues to go well with the 7th graders. πŸ™‚

  4. August 25, 2010 10:15 am

    Oh! I was right there with you getting my luggage stuck in the thingy to get on the train. You think I would know how to do that after living in Boston for so long!

    Your recap is wonderful. Im so glad that you had such a good time! I always know how I feel but I like hearing how everyone else did after a weekend together. πŸ™‚

  5. August 28, 2010 12:18 pm

    Such awesomely fun pics with the bean. Love um.

Leave a Reply

