Skip to content

Six miles and scones

August 29, 2010

I really wasn’t looking forward to my run this morning. Not even a little bit. When my alarm went off at 6am this morning, late for long run standards, I was very tempted to just shut it off an snuggle back into the warm spot I had created in bed. However knowing that there are only 32 days left until the Wine and Dine half got me motivated to get my behind out of bed and get dressed. Since we’ve been having cloudy/rainy weather down here the last few days I thought it would be best to make sure that it wasn’t pouring down rain so I could delay my run. Luckily, or unluckily since I really didn’t want to go, it was just overcast and a little foggy. I finished getting ready, headed downstairs and pulled out an old friend, the Camelbak.

DSC_0329

I haven’t used it since I ran in the Nike Women’s marathon last October but figured that since I had six miles scheduled my little handheld wouldn’t really work, even with a Publix stop about half way through.

I have a love/dislike (hate is such a strong word) relationship with the Camelbak. I love that I don’t have to hold something in my hand while I run. I love that I don’t have to worry about running out of liquid because it holds 2L of goodness that sloshes around as I run. I love that I have a place to put my phone, GU and debit card just in case of an emergency. I dislike that there aren’t any pockets on the straps and if I want to get something out of it I have to take it off and wrangle myself back into it. During the marathon (and part of the training) I did carry little pouches on the straps but I decided not to do that this go around.

See? I’m the one with the glowing boobs.

IMG_3650.JPG

I really dislike how it can rub up against my back, giving me chafe marks from my sports bra. Not cool Camelbak. Not cool.

Anyways. I filled up the bladder with one tablet of lemon lime Elixir since I was out of G2, ate some breakfast and I was out the door a little after 7am.

Toast with cashew butter and honey. On a napkin. Because I’m classy like that.
DSC_0330

When I left the house I was in the groove. I was going to do this. Then I looked behind me and saw that horribly scary purple-ish gray storm cloud coming towards me, laughing at me even. I told myself that I would just run as far as I could and I could always duck into some kind of shelter and call Carl to get me if the sky totally opened up. I made it just over a mile before it started to sprinkle and then a few minutes later it just poured. Great. I was totally soaked and wasn’t sure how long the rain would last (it really looked like an “all day” Florida rain) so I decided to turn around and run back home. Then I realized that I was already soaked and I didn’t want to have to go through the “process” of getting ready to run again. I don’t know about you runners out there, but I have to psych myself up to go out for a run sometimes. Get my game face on, if you will. I didn’t want to have to do that again so I decided to just go.

I’m so glad that I did because as soon as I decided to keep going the rain stopped. Yea! Except it was just hot and I was wet and there was no breeze. Ah well, can’t win them all. I just kept going. The first three miles were pretty ugly. I was slow (even slower than usual) and just wanted to be done. Not so great since I still had three miles to go. I decided to take some Shot-bloks at this point, figuring I could use the energy since I was starting to feel a little fatigued. I’m glad that I did because I felt a lot better afterwards. It also gave me a new frame of mind because the rest of my run was awesome! I really focused on pushing off while I was running instead of just moving my legs (does this make sense?). I was actually saying, “Push!” out loud to myself and it really helped! I started telling myself, “Good job!” and “Two more minutes!” and it really made a difference! I went from running almost 14 min./mi to 12 min/mi with my 2:1 run/walk. Huge difference!

Before I knew it I rounded the corner and had just a half mile left. Sweet! I felt strong and really pleased with how my positive self talk helped me through the end of my run.

47703_1530889787790_1101096212_31523357_5034043_n

When I walked in the door I was greeted with the most wonderful sight, my husband in the kitchen making SCONES!

DSC_0331

DSC_0333

DSC_0335

MMMMmmmmm!

We didn’t have any currents so he substituted in raisins. Lordy they were delicious!

I haven’t done much today unless you count my two hour nap after breakfast and a load of laundry. I’m okay with that!

What do you do when you want to turn around a bad run or a bad day? Do you find that some positive self talk helps change your state of mind?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2010 10:36 pm

    Good for you Danielle! I’m impressed with your determination. I’ve definitely set out for a run before and all I wanted to do was turn around a go home practically before the run even started. One thing I think of is how thankful I am that my body is able to run and that I have the time to run and then I try to get lost in nature and focus on things other than the actual run. I’ve decided I need some scones in my life – it’s time. 🙂

  2. August 30, 2010 9:58 am

    Awesome job..sometimes it comes together. I always give myself the 10 min rule..if I start off and don’t feel at least better 10min into a run…then head back. It usually works..I haven’t bailed yet as I always feel better.

  3. Veronica permalink
    August 30, 2010 8:24 pm

    I also do the “if you aren’t enjoying this by such and such time you can turn around and go home’ method. It usually works. That was so nice of him to make you scones! I am lucky if my BF is out of bed by the time I get back from a run =)

  4. August 31, 2010 6:14 pm

    I hear you about not always wanting the run. In fact, I’ve really pulled back and been enjoying yoga much more lately.

    I like others ideas about giving yourself a time limit.

    Sometimes I guilt myself into continuing on – reminding myself how much I’ll be bummed with myself for quitting. If that doesn’t work I usually cut my route a little shorter, or tell myself I have to run to a certain spot and then allow myself to walk the last mile or so home.

  5. September 8, 2010 11:05 am

    Whenever I am having a bad day I just try to put it in perspective. I think of some times that I have had a struggle and just thank my stars that I’m past that moment. Totally snaps me right out of it.

    Your glowing boobs…fantastic!

  6. September 12, 2010 12:32 am

    Your husband makes scones?! Color me jealous!
    And kudos to you for sticking it out in the rain storm! I have to admit I’d probably head home!

Leave a Reply

