Skip to content

What in the world do I do with this?!

September 12, 2010

When I decided to finally tackle the Miraval granola recipe that Jenna posted about this summer I wasn’t sure what to do about the vanilla bean that it called for. First off, where in the world do you even get them? Would I be able to find it at Publix or would I have to make a trip to Whole Foods or Native Sun for this specialty item?

After unsuccessfully trying to find it on my own I asked the lady at customer service if they had any. Low and behold they are in a jar down the spice isle. For some reason I was looking for it in a bag, like it was a dried pepper or something.

DSC_0359

Take the bean out of the jar and straighten it out.

DSC_0360

DSC_0361

Gently run your knife, lengthwise, down the bean. I had to do this a few times before I finally was able to separate the skin. So maybe you don’t have to be quite so gentle with it.

DSC_0364

DSC_0365

Once you open the bean you can see all of the little seeds in there. They kinda look like small coffee grinds.

DSC_0367

Gently run your knife along the inside of the bean, scraping out the seeds.

DSC_0368

DSC_0371

Tada!

DSC_0372

Even when it looks like you’ve removed all of the seeds keep the bean since it still has a lot of flavor. I just put it back in the jar and into my panty to use for something else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 4:29 pm

    The first time I watched someone do this with a vanilla bean I was kind of weirded out. Who knew that it looked like this?! Great tutorial. 🙂

  2. September 16, 2010 8:29 pm

    Good to know! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

