Skip to content

I have thunder thighs…and I love them!

September 13, 2010

Have you all seen this ad campaign by Nike? I LOVE it! Apparently it’s been out for a little while but I didn’t see it until Paige posted about it on her blog today.

I’m not going to lie, I haven’t always loved my thighs. Heck, there are still times when I look at them and wish they were smaller and more toned. I even thought this yesterday. Then I remember how far they’ve taken me. They got me through training (and finishing!!) my first marathon. They got me through my first half marathon. They got me through lots of 5Ks, 8Ks, 5 mile runs, a 15K. They will get me through my second half marathon in just a few weeks. They may not be perfect, but I love them!

DSC_0208.JPG

What do you love about your body? Have you always loved it or have you grown to love it over the years?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 11:50 am

    Love it!!
    Good luck in the last weeks of half training! 🙂

  2. September 14, 2010 1:27 pm

    I have always refered to my legs as THUNDER THIGHS. However, even though they are still bigger than I would like for all the working-out I do, I know that they are stronger and look stronger than they used to! Great post!

  3. September 14, 2010 1:47 pm

    Fantastic post! There is nothing more inspiring than watching someone take something that could be a negative in their life and turning it into a positive thinking point. Your legs have done some magical things! Think of what an elite group you are in that you have completed a marathon! I am inspired.

  4. Veronica permalink
    September 15, 2010 8:05 pm

    I have seen that ad and I love it! The term “thunder thighs” use to be such an awful reference to me and that ad has changed my view!

  5. September 15, 2010 8:15 pm

    I love the shoulders ad. I want to buy it and hang it in my closet. That way when I am mad at myself for being what the world calls disproportioned, I can remember I have strong shoulder and arms and that I earned them!

  6. September 16, 2010 8:38 pm

    Thanks for sharing. I had not seen the ad before.

Leave a Reply

