Skip to content

Meatless Monday – Tempeh Rubens

September 20, 2010

When I was at the grocery store a few weeks ago I picked up a package of tempeh. I don’t know what I was thinking, or perhaps I’d just read about some amazing tempeh and jam sandwich on Kath’s blog, but I couldn’t resist the package for some reason. While I was meal planning this weekend I decided to throw it into the rotation and googled some recipes and settled on tempeh rubens with green bean fries.

I’m thankful that Carl is always willing to try new (and weird!) things but I had a feeling this one was going to have to be really great and very easy since he was going to end up making it while I was at yoga tonight. Although Carl is really quite an awesome chef in the kitchen and can whip up things very easily, he is not the greatest at following a recipe. Something about the structure just really makes him anxious, bless his heart. I, on the other hand, find it very difficult to cook from anything but a recipe. I think this is years of being a scientist (or science teacher) and following the directions for lab experiments. Anyways, to try and make the process as painless (and easy!) as possible I made sure to pull up the recipe from Allrecipes.com and opened another tab for Momma Pea’s reci”peas”.

After the yoga class I checked my phone and saw that I had two calls (and voicemails!) from Carl I took a deep breath and listened. I chuckled when he said that he couldn’t find the 1000 island dressing or the sauerkraut in the first message and laughed out loud when he called back a few minutes later saying that he never should have doubted me (bah!). Love that man!

The verdict?

DSC_0432

AMAZING!

DSC_0430

DSC_0433

Seriously delish! Now go out and by some tempeh and make it for yourself!

Have you ever picked up an ingredient on a whim and discovered that you really like it?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2010 1:53 pm

    I need to get better about trying new things. It’s not that I am against trying something new and different, it’s just that I have no idea what to do with it! Sounds yummy!

  2. September 22, 2010 4:38 pm

    I love buying random fruit that I have never seen or heard of before. You can learn how to eat anything with Google.

  3. September 24, 2010 4:37 pm

    Sounds wonderful! Did you just pile the sauerkraut and dressing on top? I love this idea!

    I love to pick up new things. I usually do it with veggies.

    • October 9, 2010 10:59 am

      Yes! It was so good and by far one of my favorite recipes right now. Yum!

Leave a Reply

