Skip to content

Wine & Dine Half Marathon – The Race

October 6, 2010

Amy and I weren’t sure how smoothly things would go since it was the first year of the race. Because the finish was at Epcot and the start was at Wide World of Sports we were all directed to park at Epcot and would be shuttled over to WWoS. We decided to get to Epcot around 6-ish, (we were told to be at Epcot between 6 and 8:30) parked and made it to WWoS shortly after.

You know we had to get a picture before we left! Our Bondibands said “Will Run for Wine”, which was very fitting 🙂

DSC_0461

That meant that we had THREE HOURS to sit around before the race began. We decided to make the best of it and enjoy the uncrowded grassy area at the back of the field that they had us waiting in.

IMG_0197.PNG

IMG_0194.JPG IMG_0195.JPG

We were very thankful that the DJ guy who was in charge of entertainment was AWESOME and got the crowd involved in lots of group dancing, contests and was pretty funny. We both had our iPhones to keep us company and it was really nice to have some girl time to chat about all kinds of fun stuff 🙂 Around 8:30 pm we dug into our “dinner” of a bagel and peanut butter. Since it usually does a good job of fueling us both for morning runs we figured that it would be a good idea to eat before we ran that night.

Eventually it was time to line up in our corrals (since we decided to run the race together and it was Amy’s first half marathon we were both in Corral D), the Star Spangled Banner was sung and the cannon went off! We had to wait about 15 minutes to cross the starting line, which surprised me a little bit since there were just under 12,000 runners.

Once we started there were a fair amount of run/walkers (we were doing a 2/1 run/walk) and walkers, which I was thankful for and irritated about at the same time. Usually in a race the walkers are expected to be on the right side while the runners are on the left, but many of the walkers were just all over the place – and walking three and four wide! This was very frustrating while we were trying to run, especially in the more narrow parts of the course. I’m not sure if the people who were corralled further up experienced the same thing (since most of them would not be run/walking) so I’m hoping to hear more about that. I can honestly say that was the only negative experience that I had with the race.

The course was really awesome! Every few miles there were TNT cheering squads, characters, people dressed up on stilts and fun, food related mile markers. We spent five of the 13 miles in a park (two miles in Animal Kingdom and nearly four miles in Hollywood Studios) where the volunteer workers cheered us on and kept us going.

I felt really good until the last two miles, where my knees started to hurt and I just wanted to be FINISHED. Amy and I had to dig really deep and encourage each other. We dropped down to a 1:30 run/1:30 walk and crossed the finish line with a chip time of 3:22. I was so proud of Amy for completing her first half marathon!

When we finished we were directed through the finish chute and given water/powerade and a small plastic bag that had a banana, a granola bar, mini-Clif bars and a muffin. Perfect! Luckily we didn’t have a drop bag to pick up because the line was crazy long (which would have been awful to wait in because the building was super hot and stuffy) so we walked through and met up with Keith and Carl a few minutes later.

We did it!

DSC_0476

DSC_0478

IMG_0199.JPG

There were sweat and tears but we finished together!

The after party was pretty crowded, more so than I thought it would be, but we were able to get our free taste and sip and headed home a few minutes before the party shut down.

I have to admit that towards the end of the run I didn’t fuel properly so I wasn’t feeling all that great after the race. I need to focus on taking in more nutrients in the last few miles of the race than I think I need to – which is something that I’m going to work on for the Women’s Half Marathon in St. Pete that Kristin and I are doing in just a few weeks!

I would HIGHLY recommend this race and hope to run it again next year. I hope to see some of you there!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 5:47 pm

    Way to Go!

  2. October 7, 2010 7:10 pm

    Danielle! I’m catching up on my blog reading and SO proud of you (and Amy)!!!! Y’all are too dang cute in your bondibands. Reading this post gave me butterflies and chills as Billy and I are about to start training for our 1st half this December. We have a crash-course training session (8 weeks) due to our travels but we’re both pretty pumped! I’ll be in touch again soon. Miss ya and hope things are going well with your classes. xoxoxoxoxo

    • October 9, 2010 10:57 am

      Thank you, Dorry! I’ve LOVED reading your posts from your amazing European vacation. I don’t know that we’ll ever get there so it was nice to live vicariously through you. You looked absolutely stunning in your purple dress, but that is not a surprise 🙂 I am so happy for you and Billy! You guys are going to rock the half marathon too! xoxox

  3. October 7, 2010 11:49 pm

    Cngratulations on another great race! How fun to get to run Amy’s first half with her. What a neat experience!

    • October 9, 2010 10:56 am

      Thanks! I am so proud of Amy. She did a great job and I think I may have talked her into doing another one up here in Feb!

  4. October 9, 2010 10:36 am

    AWESOME!!!! You rock star you!! You look fabulous too! Loving the bondi bands, those are fantastic huh?
    This definitely looks like a very fun race to do 🙂

    • October 9, 2010 10:56 am

      They are GREAT! I bought another one that says “In my dreams I am a Kenyan” I love that saying! I HIGHLY recommend the Wine & Dine. It was so much fun 🙂

  5. October 10, 2010 11:04 pm

    Awesome Job!
    I hope that I can use your amazing motivation and start working my way towards training myself to do this run in the future. Right now I am focusing on getting some weight off, but once that gets moving a little more then I will focus on the fitness part. This sounds like a great race to work towards though 🙂 And a great time of year for a Florida vacation!

  6. October 12, 2010 9:59 pm

    Congrats! Loved the race recap!

Leave a Reply

