Skip to content

Buttons

October 10, 2010

A little known fact about me – I save buttons. You know, those lovely little packets that come attached to new clothes that most people probably throw away? Yes. Those. I save them in the bottom little drawer of my Gram’s jewelry box and although I usually just keep stuffing them in there, today I needed some. Two to be exact.

DSC_0495

Since we are experiencing some cooler temperatures (the high today was only 85),  I decided to clean out my closet . I put away some of my summer dresses and t-shirts and came across two pairs of pants that are missing “inside buttons”.

DSC_0483

So I dug into my little drawer and tried to find two buttons that would work for this particular job. Believe it or not, it wasn’t as easy as you’d think.

DSC_0481

Some were too big, some were too small and then finally I found two that were just right.

DSC_0494

I took the pants and buttons downstairs to sew them on. I had to bust out the sewing kit that my grandmother-in-law got me for my bridal shower. Along with the most amazing shears that can cut through just about any fabric. Love. I got out the needle and choose a piece of thread that matched the pants – even though no one will ever see it, I still will!

And that’s when I realized that there was no way that I’d be able to get this button back on. See, although it’s an “inside button” I’d have to “sew through” the side of the pants that you can actually see.

DSC_0513

DSC_0514

Looks like my pants will not have an “inside button” after all.

Do you save weird things like I do?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 11:13 pm

    I collect those buttons too!
    Although I haven’t found a use for them yet…..I have about a million saved all ready and waiting for a time I just might need one 😉

  2. October 11, 2010 12:51 am

    Can you take small, shallow stitches that don’t go through all the layers? Good Luck!

    • October 11, 2010 8:48 pm

      I knew I’d have to do something like that I just couldn’t figure out how to do it. Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

  3. October 11, 2010 5:25 pm

    I agree with Zahara’s suggestion.

    My mom had a button canister (similar to like a Plantars Peanut can) that I used to love to take out and play with when I was little. Imagine all the mixing and matching skills I learned playing with buttons.

    • October 11, 2010 8:48 pm

      I love it! Talk about classification at a young age. Who knew little things like that would make you the scientist you are today 🙂

Leave a Reply

