Skip to content

When life doesn’t make sense…

October 10, 2010

…I cook. Something about putting ingredients together and watching them become a meal makes me smile. Whenever I feel out of balance, getting in the kitchen and following a recipe is almost always a sure way to get me back on track. Maybe it’s the scientist in me that loves following a procedure. Maybe it’s the foodie in me that loves to eat. Maybe it’s a little bit of both.

This was the state of my kitchen a few hours ago.

DSC_0508

DSC_0511

DSC_0506

Which will be used in dinners through out the week. It even made our delicious dinner tonight – Hearty Lentil Soup with grilled cheese. Oh yum!

DSC_0512

Clean Eating Hearty Lentil Soup
Clean Eating Magazine Sept/Oct 2010 p. 58
By: Samantha Israel

Ingredients:

  • 1 c. dried lentils (the recipe calls for red but we had green)
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 red bell pepper (totally worth the splurge!)
  • 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 c. whole grain or brown rice
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1 tbs. fresh lemon juice (I just realized we left it out!)
  • Chicken broth (we used this instead of the water)

Instructions:

  1. Rinse lentils and pick through, discarding any debris or small stones; drain.
  2. Heat oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add onion and bell pepper and saute for 5 minutes or until brown. Stir in cumin and red pepper flakes and cook for 1 more minute. Add 4 cups chicken broth (or water), lentils and rice. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover ad cook for 20 minutes. Add salt (omit if you use the chicken broth), stir and cook for an additional 30 minutes. Before serving, stir in lemon juice (we didn’t because I forgot!). Enjoy!

You’ve got to try this soup!

P.S.

Did you know that Cabot Cheese is LACTOSE FREE?! Two weeks ago I swore off cheese (and yogurt) because my poor belly just couldn’t take it anymore. Since then I’ve been eating Daiya shredded “cheese”. It’s actually pretty good when mixed in with other things and tastes kinda like Cheetos 🙂 However, the other day I remembered that Cabot cheese was lactose free so I’ve been experimenting with it and so far I have not seen the cheese belly! Yea!

When you use a recipe do you usually follow it exactly or add in your own flavor? More often than not I follow the directions the first time I make a recipe and then I’m more likely to do my own thing the next time. Okay, I’m lying. I will follow a recipe more often than not.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 12:54 am

    I love lentil soup. It is so easy to make and the lentils cook up fast, plus it’s filling and nutritious and delicious. This recipe sounds good.

  2. October 11, 2010 5:27 pm

    …and I think I already have lentils in the cabinet, hanging out from last winter

  3. October 11, 2010 6:54 pm

    Thaks for the recipe – I’m going to try this! Will be simple to make vegetarian!

    • October 11, 2010 8:47 pm

      The original recipe is vegetarian but I added the chicken stock because I knew it would give it a little more flavor than the water. I bet you could use veggie stock to kick it up a bit. Yum!

  4. October 12, 2010 7:32 pm

    Jeff LOVES lentils. I am going to have to give this a try.

    • October 12, 2010 7:55 pm

      It was so good! I swear that the chicken stock was the key.

  5. Lisa permalink
    October 13, 2010 9:53 pm

    I am more worried about the life not making sense part…. i hope you are doing alright! 🙂

Leave a Reply

