Skip to content

Two runs

December 12, 2010

Training for the half marathon part of 26.2 with Donna should have started the week before Thanksgiving, however Carl and I are a bit lazy (read: it’s cold here in Florida!) so Carl and I slacked off a bit in the training department. With just over 10 weeks to go (last week) we got our booties in gear and completed two runs. Sure, they were shorter than they should have been but we’ve got to start somewhere.

Run one: Monday evening was COLD but the run had to be done. I think the temperature definitely made us both run faster because we wanted to get home and get warm!
DSC_0418.JPG

DSC_0420

Stats:
Time – 22:00
Distance – 2 miles
Pace – 11:01’/mi
Intervals – 2:30 run/:30 walk

Run two: We had a super crazy week last week so the next time that we were able to run was Saturday morning. Not ideal to have the runs so far apart, but I’ll take what we can get! I shared half of a banana with Carl and can tell that even for a short run like this I need more food because I felt like I could have used more energy. I also need to adjust to adjust to running in the cold because I wore the same green running sweater that I went out in Monday night but I got HOT. Like super sweaty hot. Ah well. I’ll adjust eventually.

DSC_0422.JPG

DSC_0425.JPG

Stats:
Time:-22:38
Distance – 2 miles
Pace – 11:20’/mi
Intervals – mile 1 = 2:00 run/1:00 walk- mile 2 = 2:30 run/:30 walk

We had plans to run again today but it’s rainy and gross outside. Hopefully it will clear up because the gym is closed today.

Are you training for any races? Which ones? Have you run them before?

We are training for the half marathon of 26.2 with Donna that I ran last year. I’m really excited to run it again this year! This is Carl’s first half and I hope he likes it!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 1:21 pm

    What an awesome pace! You’re doing great!

    • December 12, 2010 7:35 pm

      Thanks! You are kicking butt with your marathon training, too!

  2. Andie permalink
    December 12, 2010 4:41 pm

    I’m training for a 1/2 that I’m running in Apr. My sister and I ran it earlier this year, I’m looking forward to making a real go of it in ’11

  3. December 12, 2010 8:18 pm

    My advice is layers! I’m always surprised how fast I warm up and want to strip off a layer (not that our temps are quite as cold as yours…)

    Matt and I just finished PB Marathon (which I have yet to blog about…) and committed to Miami again this year. So 2 repeats so far. If we’re still up for running after January I think I’d like to the Gasparilla 15K (or half?) in Tampa, and the more I think about the Gate River I think it might be fun to do again (plus it’s an excuse to come visit you). But, I’ll see how we are feeling about running….I’m really enjoying yoga more lately…

    • December 12, 2010 8:42 pm

      We’d love to have you back for Gate! There is talk of an IB training that weekend, though, so I’m going to wait to sign up until I know for sure if I’m going or not.

      Gasparilla sounds like fun! Maybe we can meet up to do that one 🙂

  4. December 14, 2010 11:30 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad y’all are training to run together. It was a great experience for Billy and me – it helps so much with training schedules, cooking, etc to be on the same page. I’m planning to register for another half marathon in the springtime. I’m just not sure which one quite yet.

Leave a Reply

