Skip to content

Women’s Half Marathon Recap

December 12, 2010

When I finished the Wine and Dine half marathon back in October I felt really good. So good that I was pretty sure that with adequate training I could blow my previous half marathon time of 3:05 at 26.2 with Donna last February out of the water. Unfortunately I fell into a bit of a running slump and really only kicked it into gear three weeks before the race. Yeah, so much for being super prepared. I’m not going to lie, if I hadn’t already paid for the hotel room I think Kristin and I both would have passed up the race. Instead we took it as another lesson to be learned and decided to have a fun time in St. Pete for the weekend. Girl time with one of my teacher friends? Yes, please!

Kristin and I headed over to St. Pete on Saturday morning and made it though Orlando without too much traffic. We drove right into town and stopped to pick up our packets. I was late on the hotel reservations so most of the hotels in the immediate area of the start/packet pick-up were booked so we were just a little ways out. Kristin and I were both excited about the beautiful location and knew that the race would be lovely. Packet pickup was very smooth and the line was pretty short, which was nice. The expo was small but had a lot of great vendors. For whatever reason I took very few pictures the entire weekend, which I’m bummed about now.

After we picked up our goodies we headed out exploring around the area. There were lots of cute little boutique shops and restaurants that were super cute and it was a beautiful day out, sunny but breezy. Eventually we left to check into our hotel and relax for a bit before headed back out for dinner.

DSC_0207

We wanted to make sure that we were in bed early so after dinner we headed back to the hotel and got everything together and relaxed.

DSC_0208

DSC_0210

We woke up bright and early and were able to eat breakfast at the hotel’s breakfast bar. Gotta love Hampton Inn! We found parking in a parking garage and were off to the start. After a short pitstop for a potty break we arrived at the start with just enough time to elbow our way into our corral and check out the scenery, which was absolutely beautiful during the whole race.

Sadly I’ve forgotten many of the things that I wanted to remember for this post. Just another reminder of why I need to make sure to blog about races within a few days of them occurring.

What I do remember is that once we hit mile 7 right before 1:30 min. I knew I had a shot at making it to the finish line before three hours. I was doing 2:30 run/:30 walk intervals (and throwing the 2:1 intervals in when I was struggling a bit) and knew that the more I kept it up the more cushion I would have to come in before three hours. I’m not going to lie, I know I didn’t train as well as I would have liked and keeping up the pace got really, really tough the last three miles. I’m so thankful that Kristin decided to stay with me because I really don’t know that I would have been able to do it without her encouragement.

I did it! I beat my fastest half marathon time by nearly 15 minutes!

IMG_0222.JPG

Kristin and I LOVED this race and definitely want to run it again next year!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 12:14 pm

    Love this report! It totally makes me know I can do my next one! I have been slack in the training and my next one is a month away…I would love a 2.51 time for it…I hope to start back this week! Glad you are blogging again! 🙂

  2. December 12, 2010 3:07 pm

    Congratulations on a great race and a PR!!

  3. December 12, 2010 8:08 pm

    15 minutes is a huge drop! Congrats again. I totally know that “didn’t train as much as I should have” feeling, but look how strong you’ve gotten in the past 10 months!

    • December 12, 2010 8:39 pm

      Thanks! I agree that I’ve gotten faster/stronger this year so I’m looking forward to see what happens in 2011!

Leave a Reply

