Skip to content

Balance

January 2, 2011

When Hilary posted about the one little word she wanted to focus on this year it really got me thinking about how I wanted to approach the new year and attain the goals that I’ve set for myself. One word came to mind: balance.

balance

Image source

bal·ance
(blns)
n.

1. A state of equilibrium or parity characterized by cancellation of all forces by equal opposing forces.
3. The power or means to decide.
4. A state of bodily equilibrium
5. A stable mental or psychological state; emotional stability.
6. A harmonious or satisfying arrangement or proportion of parts or elements, as in a design.

Definition source

Okay, so maybe this is a word that I’ve been thinking about since school started up again in August. But, I think it’s too good to let go just because the calendar now reads 2011 instead of 2010.

I’d love to work on finding a balance between:

  • Work and my personal life – There is no reason for me to stay at work late just because the husband is still at work. There are a lot of other things I could be doing besides sitting in my classroom and grading papers or creating new lessons.
  • Work and exercising – Because I stay at work late I find myself making excuses for not exercising. This is not good for my mind, body or soul.
  • Time for myself and time for my husband/friends – Recharging each night is important for focusing on what is coming up the next day or later on during the week, but so is spending time with my husband and friends. Quality is much more important than quantity.
  • Blogging and the rest of lifeI’ve really been struggling with blogging the last few months. I love to blog and share my life with my friends (real life and blends!) and family so I want to think of blogging as less of a chore and more of a way to connect with everyone. I also need to realize that just because my blog is called from5ktomarathon it doesn’t always have to be about running or fitness. It’s about a journey, just like life.

I’m sure as the year goes on I’ll think of more things that I need to find balance between, but these are the biggies right now.

Do you have a “word” that you are trying to focus on this year?



6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2011 2:05 pm

    Love your word!

  2. January 2, 2011 6:13 pm

    Balance is a perfect word to focus on! I’ve seen several posts for a “word of the year” and I’m going to post about mine tomorrow. 🙂

  3. January 2, 2011 8:51 pm

    That’s a great word. I would have to say my word would be a toss up between that and positivity!

  4. January 6, 2011 3:09 pm

    Balance is such a great word to focus on! I recently did a post on this too. I decided that my word is TRUST. I want to trust my body. Trust God. Trust myself.

  5. January 6, 2011 9:16 pm

    Balance is the perfect word! I am always trying to have balance in my life to some extent.

  6. Mama Carter permalink
    January 10, 2011 9:27 am

    For this year, my word is all about change (I use to thrive on it in my younger years!) Be careful what you ask for, you just might get it, wrapped up with challenges needing fortitude and perseverence!

Leave a Reply

